Archive for May 25, 2010

Free Download: Guilty Simpson & Bumps “Drums” +Koushik Remix

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on May 25, 2010 by dk

Download: Guilty Simpson & Bumps “Drums” (MP3)
Bonus: Guilty Simpson & Bumps “Drums (Gymbag Remix by Koushik)” (MP3)


This is Guilty Simpson with Bumps, the drummers of the band Tortoise, with J.Rocc on the cut.

Bumps, the self-titled beat album was released on Stones Throw a couple years back.  John McEntire, John Herndon, and Dan Bitney of Bumps had Guilty Simpson over this track for a potential single. 

Guilty Simpson & Madlib’s project OJ Simpson is released May 18th on Stones Throw


Beats, Breaks, Raw, Drums by Tortoise drummers Bitney, Herndon, and McEntire

The three percussion experts behind the seminal indie rock / post rock band Tortoise showcase their rhythmical prowess, coming together for Bumps, the self-titled concept break beat record.

As members of Tortoise, these three gentlemen helped infuse a new aesthetic into the indie rock scene of the 1990s. The group set itself apart by focusing on instrumental prowess and group interaction. Instead of the tried and true themes of familiar alternative and punk, Tortoise opened up their scope of influences to create a new musical vision – dubiously called “post rock” – incorporating styles from genres such as Krautrock, dub, avant-garde jazz, classical minimalism, ambient and space music, film music and British electronica.

One of indie rock’s most in-demand master producers of the last decade, Tortoise’s producer/drummer/vibes player John McEntire has worked with a staggering number of artists as engineer, producer and remixer. With Bumps, he lends his talents toward pushing the boundaries of a typical break beat record, fusing influences from funk, Brazilian, Latin and Afrobeat music.


!!! (Chk Chk Chk) – AM/FM (taken from Strange Weather, Isn’t It?)(Preview )

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on May 25, 2010 by dk

!!!’s new album ‘Strange Weather, Isn’t It?’ coming late 23/24 August 2010
Released by: Warp Records

Preorder at Bleep

new Autechre Move of Ten July 12th

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on May 25, 2010 by dk

The electronic innovators will release a new ten-track record this July.

Just two months after the release of their last album, Oversteps, Autechre have unveiled details for their next record, Move of Ten, due in stores this July via Warp.

The new release features ten new tracks by the celebrated avant-garde duo, and will be available on CD and double-vinyl. As was the case with Oversteps, the price of both physical formats includes access to 16 and 24 bit WAV files of the album, available for download via Bleep, Warp’s online subsidiary. To get an idea of what Move of Ten has in store, head over to Autechre’s official site for a stream of “y7,” the second track on the album.

In support of the new record (and, for that matter, the last one), Autechre will embark on a string of live dates throughout the summer. Following a few gigs this weekend in Australia, the pair will play festivals in Slovakia, Poland, Greece and Japan, with scattered smaller gigs in between.

01. Etchogon-S
02. y7
03. pce freeze 2.8i
04. rew(1)
05. nth Dafuseder.b
06. iris was a pupil
07. no border
08. M62
09. ylm0
10. Cep puiqMX

Warp Records will release Move of Ten on July 12th, 2010(RA)

Listen Autechre – y7 (from Move Of Ten – see

Live Dates 2010

— May
27 Australia, Perth, Capitol – w Rob Hall & Harmonic 313
28 Australia, Sydney, Forum – w Rob Hall
29 Australia, Melbourne, The Hi Fi – w Rob Hall & Harmonic 313

— June
04 Japan, Tokyo, Differ Ariake – w Juan Atkins & Claude Young
05 Japan, Nagano, Taico Club Festival

— July
09 Slovakia @ Pohoda Festival

— August
27 Poland @ Tauron Nowa Muzyka Festival

— September
17 Greece, Athens @ Bios
18 Greece, Thessaloniki @ Reworks Festival

(download)Doc Daneeka XLR8R Podcast

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on May 25, 2010 by dk

Okay, we’ll admit it. In the past few months, XLR8R has gone mad for Welsh producer Doc Daneeka. He’s been profiled in our Bubblin’ section, his Deadly Rhythm EP kicked off new Ramp sub-label PTN in style, and his own Ten Thousand Yen imprint is bringing even more high-quality, percussion-heavy funky to the table. Don’t believe us? Check out our preview of the label’s first release. At this rate, we’re going to crown Doc Daneeka the King of Wales by year’s end. As part of the ongoing coronation, the young artist has been selected to put together an exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast series, and, as expected, he’s delivered a true scorcher stuffed with rattling drums and punchy low end, not to mention a number of new and unreleased tunes. Give it a listen and then mark your calendars for June 4, as we’ve invited Doc Daneeka to make his first US appearance at our monthly TURRBOTAX® party alongside Trouble & Bass’ Star Eyes and incredible Brooklyn outfit Blondes. See? We told you that we loved this guy.

(download)Doc Daneeka XLR8R Podcast

01 Xxxy “Fela!”
02 DJ Gregory & Gregor Salto “Vem Rebola feat. Dama Pancha” (Defected)
03 Claude VonStroke “California (Julio Bashmore Remix)” (Dirtybird)
04 Ikonika “Aqueous Cream”
05 Martyn “MiniLuv” (Ostgut Ton)
06 Doc Daneeka “Swine Flu” (PTN)
07 Lil Silva “No Hooks” (Night Slugs)
08 Breach “Fatherless (Doc Daneeka MRR SNRZZ Remix)” (PTN)
09 Grevious Angel “Move Down Low VIP” (Soul Jazz)
10 Four Tet “Sing (Mosca Remix)” (Domino)
11 DJ Gregory & Gregor Salto “Con Alegria (Solo “More Cowbell” Remix)” (Defected)
12 Doc Daneeka feat. Rodski “Copz” (PTN)
13 Unknown “Winkwink”
14 Doc Daneeka “Mario’s Mushrooms” (PTN)
15 Julio Bashmore “Chazm” (Ten Thousand Yen)
16 Tuff Wheelz “It’s Like That (C.R.S.T. Remix)”
17 Doc Daneeka “Hold on” (Ramp)