Archive for July 3, 2010

Rodrigo y Gabriela- “Hanuman” (Official Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on July 3, 2010 by dk

New video for Rodrigo y Gabriela’s single “Hanuman” from their new record
11:11 out on Rubyworks Records.

You can catch Rodrigo Y Gabriela performing live across the UK on the following dates:

 10 T in the Park Glasgow
12 The Hub At Cillin Hill Kilkenny Ireland 
13 Semple Stadium Thurles Ireland 
 18 Latitude Festival London

2 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire London
3 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire London
5 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire London
6 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire London
7 O2 Shepherds Bush Empire London
12 Grand Canal Theatre Dublin Ireland


manaboo(brendon moeller & shigeru tanabu) feat. curtis mayfield (steadfast records free download)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , on July 3, 2010 by dk

produced by manaboo (brendon moeller & shigeru tanabu) feat. curtis mayfield acapella


Trent Reznor Writing Soundtrack For New Justin Timberlake Facebook Film

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on July 3, 2010 by dk

Nine Inch Nails star Trent Reznor is writing the soundtrack to a new movie starring Justin Timberlake.

The Social Network, which has been directed by David Fincher, tells the story of the founding of Facebook.

Reznor said he agreed to score the film after Fincher approached him with the idea last year.

“I’ve always loved David’s work but quite honestly I wondered what would draw him to tell that story,” he said.

“When I actually read the script and realized what he was up to, I said goodbye to that free time I had planned.”

Reznor has been writing the soundtrack alongside Atticus Ross, and said the pair were near the end of the process.

“We’re looking forward to the next phase – distilling the large amount of music we’ve written for this down to a satisfying record (or two),” he said.

The Social Network is due to be released in cinemas in the US on October 1.

(gigwise report)

new Tricky – Murder Weapon(preview from new album Mixed Race on 27th September)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on July 3, 2010 by dk

Domino will release new album from Tricky, Mixed Race, on 27th September (UK) and 28th September (US). Mixed Race is Tricky’s ninth studio album and his second released through Domino after Knowle West Boy two years ago. Murder Weapon will be released as the first single on 30th August.

Mixed Race was recorded in Paris, where Tricky currently lives, and is Tricky’s most direct album to date. Musically his magpie’s eye takes influence from UK, Jamaica, the US, North Africa and France.

There’s a wealth of experience distilled within as Tricky approaches twenty years of recording; yet he remains as vital as ever. He sets out his motivation early with “Every Day”, and then proceeds with narration and temptation, reflection and perception, mischief and misbehaviour.

As ever he has a wealth of singers and collaborators. Mixed Race introduces Irish-Italian Franky Riley who has toured as Tricky’s vocalist for two years and makes her recording debut here, there’s also Terry Lynn, Bobby Gillespie, Hakim Hamadouche, Blackman and Tricky’s brother, Marlon Thaws who’s the thirteenth of fourteen siblings.

Tricky says “Every album is a learning experience and this is concentrated music, there’s no dilution. I’m comfortable in my own skin now, comfortable with being in the light. I’m not just a kid from Knowle West trying to build a future, I have some experience, I can experiment, I can be honest, and honestly, musically, I can’t be touched. I used to hide in the shadows when I played live, now I perform. I used to hate doing interviews, now I feel honoured that people would be interested in what I have to say. I’ve spent my life going between cultures; Mixed Race is about that, and in a very direct way.”

Mixed Race will be available on CD (WIGCD256), LP (WIGLP256) and via digital download (WIG256D).

The album’s tracklisting is as follows:
1. Every Day
2. Kingston Logic
3. Early Bird
4. Ghetto Stars
5. Hakim
6. Come To Me
7. Murder Weapon
8. Time To Dance
9. Really Real
10. Bristol To London

Tricky will be performing at the following festivals in the UK:

-Sunday 11th July: T in the Park, Kinross (Slam Tent, 2.30pm)
-Saturday 21st August: V Festival, Hylands Park, Chelmsford (Union Arena, 7.30pm)
-Sunday 22nd August: V Festival, Weston Park, Stafford (Union Arena, 7.30pm)
-Friday 10th September: Bestival, Newport, Isle Of Wight (Big Top Stage, 10.30pm)

Domino Records