Archive for November 19, 2011

See-I Remix Compilation (out next week 11/22)

Posted in News on November 19, 2011 by dk

Fort Knox Recordings presents the See-I Remix Compilation, thirteen brilliant remixes of original See-I tracks from their June 2011 debut album. Loved by fans, lauded by the press and popular with radio outlets around the world, the See-I debut album has been a phenomenal success. The track “Haterz 24/7” was licensed to the newly released NBA 2K12 video game by 2K Sports. See-I defined their signature funk n’ soul reggae vibe on the original tracks and these remixes take them a step further with the hottest dance floor sounds.

For this project, some of the mightiest producers and remixers from around the world were enlisted to rework their favorite See-I tracks. Subatomic Sound and Omegaman both took See-I deeper into dub reggae. The Knight Riderz and Turntable Dubbers & Sebski reworked tracks into forward thinking bass music and dubstep. Fort Knox Five added their signature funk sound, as did the Funk Hunters. The inimitable Drumagick brought some cutting-edge, booming drum’n’bass. The Ancient Astronauts provide a laid-back beat jam – as they do best. JPOD threw down some of the drizzliest glitch hop beats ever heard! Clayton & Fulcrum provide early morning house vibes while the Mustbeat Crew & Nynfus Corporation add some tasty ghetto funk. True to form, J-Roc throws down a bass heavy party banger. To close out the compiliation, Holmes Ives drops a spaced out, dub odyssey for the heads.

This group of remixes is truly a global compilation, with remixers coming from Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Hungary and the USA. Each bringing their own unique sound and vibe. The end result is an unparalleled compilation of remixes sure to please.

RELEASE: See-I Remixed Compilation
LABEL: Fort Knox Recordings
Nov. 22, 2011 Worldwide


01. Dangerous – Subatomic Sound Remix
02. Haterz 24/7 – Fort Knox Five Remix
03. Dub Revolution – Omegaman Remix
04. Soul Hit Man – The Funk Hunters Remix
05. Talkin’ About the Peace – Ancient Astronauts Remix
06. How We Do – JPOD the Beat Chef Remix
07. Blow Up – Knight Riderz Remix
08. Soul Hit Man – Drumagick Remix
09. Soul Universe – MustBeat & Nynfus Corp. Remix
10. Homegrown 2011 – J-Roc Remix
11. Blow Up – Turntable Dubbers & Sebski Remix
12. Reign In 2 Light – Clatyon & Fulcrum Remix
13. Disturbancy – Holmes Ives Remix

Muta – Runner on King Deluxe (stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , on November 19, 2011 by dk

King Deluxe seventh release is Muta, aka Cliff Harris, a music and philosophy student honing his craft up in the Colorado Rockies. He began writing his own creations on the guitar six years ago, but the discovery of the synthesizer a short time later was a game changer; he quickly began tweaking with with the very fabric of his songs. Responsible for the amazing cover artwork is BC artist Laura Bifano. Which, along with some of the tracks within, is loosely based on a certain classic 70′s sci-fi film. Deluxe prides itself in bringing you frequency-rich productions that demand you upgrade your sound system immediately, and Runner is no exception.

Artist : Muta
Album : Runner
Release Date : 11/11/11
Genre : Electronic
Playtime : 34:07 min
Label : King Deluxe
Cat.Num : KING007


01. cursed Words 1:30
02. Chipped 2:18
03. Elixer 3:20
04. Lock Jaw 4:30
05. All Impulse Part I 4:02
06. Carousel 4:00
07. All Impulse Part II 5:26
08. Misfit Toys 4:51
09. Sleepshop 4:20




Joker – Essential Mix BBC Radio 1 (11-19-2011)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on November 19, 2011 by dk

Joker brings the bass to the Essential Mix!
Joker burst onto Bristol’s dubstep scene in 2007, alongside artists like Pinch and Ginz. He runs the Kapsize label with Ginz and he’s also released tracks on labels like Hyperdub and Tectonic. Joker’s debut album was released on 4AD in October and features SBTRKT collaborator Jesse Ware.
Listen HERE

01. Joker — Intro
02. Liam Petrelli — Old Era
03. Stinkahbell — Something In Your Eyes (Joker Special)
04. Benga — Faithless
05. Joker — Back In The Days (Feat Buggsy Scars Shads)
06. Joker — Back In The Days Feat Ghetts & Lil Nasty)
07. Joker — Skitta
08. Joker & Ginz — Purple City
09. Joker — Milky Way
10. Joker — Saturn
11. Sam Frank — Simple Life
12. 2000f & Jkamata — You Don’t Know What Love Is (Joker Special)
13. Joker & Sills — Slaughter House (Instrumental)
14. Skream & Sam Frank — Anticipate
15. Gemmy — Tales Of The Deep
16. Skream — Tweedle (Feat Trim)
17. Joker — Tron
18. Red Light — Unknown
19. TC — Wait A Minute
20. Benga — Running
21. J@Kes — A Case Of The Bleeps
22. Joker & TC — It Aint Got A Name
23. Joker — On My Mind (Featt William Cartwright) (Extended BBC Radio 1 Version)
24. Joker — On My Mind (Rustie Remix)
25. Joker — On My Mind (Goldie Remix)
26. Joker — Lost (Feat Buggsy And Otis Brown)
27. Joker — Trancey (aka Sherbet Face)

More at BBC

Desto, Clouds & Jimi Tenor ft. Cha Cha – Time Bird(Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on November 19, 2011 by dk

Released through 502 Recordings, homebase of the excellent DJ Oneman, this collaboration between Desto, Clouds & Jimi Tenor. Finland via China. Recorded in Shanghai

BBE pres.Jean Wells – Soul On Soul (Deluxe Edition)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on November 19, 2011 by dk

Released: 2011-11-28
Jean Wells’ story is not an extraordinary one in the world of soul, although her voice certainly was. Her biggest hit ‘Have A Little Mercy’ from 1967 was a glorious slice of deep soul, a plea to a lover, whom she is addicted to, but who doesn’t seem to notice. Her gospel-trained voice perfectly encapsulating those feelings, whilst a stark arrangement dominated by an ethereal organ and dramatic horn stabs heightens the unbearable effect this man is having on Jean’s life. Yet at the time this record only reached number 25 in the R&B charts, just another bit of genius amongst many, thrown out by the black American music industry at one of its most creative and profligate periods.

Preorder album HERE