Archive for November 21, 2011

DJ Shadow, Little Dragon – Scale It Back(Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , on November 21, 2011 by dk

Leila – ‘U&I’

Posted in News with tags , , , , , on November 21, 2011 by dk

Leila has already released three albums, a trilogy if you will. In 2009 she started to write a body of work that felt different. Maybe it was being sober, but this one seemed to be about being more direct.

Leila first met Mt. Sims at a fancy dress party way back in 2006. Leila went as Leila. Mt. Sims dressed as a Computer Processing Unit fashioned from a cardboard box with strategically placed slits. She had admired his music since his work on Gigolo Records, she was most happy when he introduced himself and said he was a fan.

Fast-Forward to 2009, Leila decided the man who had dressed as a C.P.U. was the perfect voice for this new body of work. ‘In Consideration’ was made within two hours of him arriving at her home studio, when it comes to noise she doesn’t like to waste any time.

Then came an intense period of sonic interactions. ‘Welcome To Your Life’ was particularly fun in it’s inception. Backing track pretty complete, as Leila watched Countdown Mt. Sims casually wrote a song… Leila liked it a lot.

Two visits and some acapella swapping over Dropbox later (both “Anyway” and “U&I” were done within 30 minutes of Leila receiving the acapellas), the album was complete.

The artwork is a picture taken of a very special computer crash revealing its internal architecture. Like an imaginary moment when you can look at a human being and see their organs and bones rather than the layers of veneer.

Leila – ‘U&I’
WARP220 – CD, Double Vinyl, Download
Released 23rd/24th January 2012

Leila – ‘U&I’ Tracklisting

01. of one
02. activate i
03. all of this
04. welcome to your life
05. in consideration
06. eight
07. (disappointed cloud) anyway
08. interlace
09. colony collapse disorder
10. boudica
11. in motion slow
12. u&i
13. forasmuch

Gonjasufi: Nikels & Dimes’ Available now as a free download & ‘MU.ZZ.LE’ artwork unveiled

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on November 21, 2011 by dk

‘Nikels & Dimes’, the first track to be released from Gonjasufi’s new mini-album ‘MU.ZZ.LE’, is available as a free download / stream now:

Download it here

Stream below

In addition the captivating artwork for MU.ZZ.LE has been unveiled.

‘MU.ZZ.LE’ will be released on 23rd January as a CD, double 10″ and as a special screenprinted A2 poster, strictly limited to 500 copies worldwide.

MU.ZZ.LE Tracklisting

01. White Picket Fence
02. Feedin’ Birds
03. Nikels and Dimes
04. Rubberband
05. Venom
06. Timeout
07. Skin
08. The Blame
09. Blaksuit
10. Sniffin’

Pre-order MU.ZZ.LE now from Bleep

VCMG – Vince Clarke and Martin L. Gore announce details of brand new collaboration -Spock

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on November 21, 2011 by dk

After 30 years working on their respective ongoing music projects, Vince Clarke (Erasure/ Yazoo/ Depeche Mode) and Martin L. Gore (Depeche Mode) come together for the first time since 1981 as VCMG to release a brand new album preceded by a series of EPs.

VCMG is the fruit of initially tentative discussion and subsequent enthused collaboration where Vince and Martin, both influential as pioneers in electronic music, get to exercise their lifelong love of the genre as the techno inspired VCMG.

As Vince explains: “I’ve been getting into and listening to a lot of minimal dance music and I got really intrigued by all the sounds… I realised I needed a collaborator… so it occurred to me to talk to Martin.”

Says Martin: “Out of the blue I got an e-mail from Vince just saying, ‘I’m interested in making a techno album. Are you interested in collaborating?’ This was maybe a year ago. He said, ‘No pressure, no deadlines,’ so I said, ‘OK’.”

The writing and recording of the album was done in a typically unique way with the pair working alone in their respective studios, communicating only via email, exchanging files until the album was ready. It was in May 2011 that the pair met for the first time to discuss the project when they both performed at Short Circuit presents Mute festival in London.

The album (title to be announced soon) was produced by Vince Clarke and Martin L. Gore and mixed by the Californian electronic artist Überzone/ Q and will be released in the spring of 2012.

The first release is an EP entitled Spock. EP1/ SPOCK will feature remixes from Edit-Select, aka Tony Scott, the UK DJ / producer and founder of EditSelect Records whose previous remix credits include Speedy J, Death In Vegas and Gary Beck; Regis, British techno musician Karl O’Connor, member of the Sandwell District collective and co-founder of Downwards Records); DVS1, Brooklyn based producer Derek VanScoten (Radiohead/ Sleigh Bells/ Emancipator); plus XOQ, the alter ego of Überzone/ Q, who mixed the VCMG album.

EP1/SPOCK will be available initially as a global exclusive on Beatport on 30 November, and then on all DSPs from 12 December with the 12” release following on 19 December 2011.


Spock – Album version
Spock – Edit Select Remix
Spock – Regis Remix
Spock – DVS1 Voyage Home Remix
Spock – XOQ Remix

Adele – Set Fire To The Rain (Royal Albert Hall)(Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , on November 21, 2011 by dk