Grime: The Compilation -Teddy Music

Artist: Teddy Music
Title: Grime: The Compilation
Label: Teddy Music
Release Date: 30.01.12
Format: CD & Digital
Catalogue Number: TMCD001

1. Teddy Music – Grime Feat. Dot Rotten, Ghetts, Lil Nasty & Griminal
2. B-Live – Modern Warfare 2 Feat. Newham Generals, Skepta & Spyda
3. P Money – Hot Ones (O.G’z Madness)
4. JME – JME
5. Stutta – Hype Ting (DPMO) Feat. Mercston, Tinchy Stryder & Ghetts
6. Guvnor – Martian Attack Feat. Scorcher
7. Lethal Bizzle – Don’t Run It Up
8. Ghetts – Salute Me Feat. Badness & Delusion
9. Badness – Silencer
10. Teddy Music – Dat Feat. Trim
11. Tiny – Stratford To Plaistow Feat. Griminal
12. Ironik – Falling In Love Feat. Jessica Lowndes
13. Teddy Music – Confidence Feat. Dot Rotten
14. Tinchy Stryder – Barclays Freestyle
15. Ghetts – We’re Moving Along Feat. Maxsta
16. Skepta – Gingerbread Man
17. Ghetts – My Sperm
18. JME – Over Me (Teddy Music Remix)
19. Stutta – Final Lap Feat. Ghetts
20. Teddy Music – Down With Us Feat. Marcus, Kozzie & Scrufizzer
21. Tempa T – Spray Dem
22. Teddy Music – Doomed Feat. Newham Generals

“So wha’d you know about Grime?” sings Dot Rotten over a 808-led instrumental on the opening track of Grime: The CompilationTeddy Music (formerly known as Silencer) should be one of the producers you’re familiar with if you’ve been paying attention to the UK’s grime scene over the last few years, as his uncompromising sound palette of sinister synths and menacing drum patterns have been a staple on a variety of artist’s albums and DJ sets.

Making his name via the self-released Wow Bass EP series that featured bonafide grime instrumental classics such as World War 4 (which features here on Lethal Bizzle‘s Don’t Run It Up), Teddy Music rapidly became one of the most sought after producers by MC’s and DJ’s alike.

Grime: The Compilation features an all-star cast of Grime’s elite that includes SkeptaJMENewham GeneralsP MoneyTinchy StryderGhetts, Scrufizzer and Kozzie. Theses collaborations speak volumes about his pivotal role in the grime scene and the genuine admiration from his peers, and tracks such as Gingerbread Man, Modern Warfare 2 and Hot Ones showcase exactly why his trademark “Teddy” scream (which appears in all of his productions) is a stamp of quality whenever you hear them.
One of the four exclusive tracks on the compilation features Dirtee Stanks’ Newham Generals on the aptly titled Doomed, where they trade verses over a militant production where squelching bassline stabs create an unorthodox melody. Other new material comes in the shape of Tempa T’s Spray Dem, which is a brutal exercise in lyrical warfare which we’ve come to know and love from the Slew Dem member over the years.
Other notable new cuts come from BBC Sound of 2012 nominee Dot Rotten, as he exercises his vocal chords once again on Confidence explaining how his self-belief has propelled him to greater heights, and Trim who he proves that the one-line flow is still effective when done the witty and playful manner that he does on the zany Dat.
This compilation is a snapshot of Teddy Music’s most essential tunes to date with a sprinkling of new material to give us a hint of where he’s looking to take his music in 2012 and from the evidence on show here his uncompromising style is here to stay.
Check out the brand new video for Doomed featuring Newham Generals by clicking the link below:
For more Teddy Music:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: