Archive for May 28, 2014

Brian Eno and Karl Hyde Announce NEW Record ‘HIGH LIFE’ Out July 1 (Stream New Track “DBF” Now)

Posted in News with tags , , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.


Listen to new track “DBF” now at

Within weeks of the release of their debut album (Someday World, out now), Jools Holland television performance and augmented reality iOS app (free now on the App Store), we can reveal that the collaboration between Brian Eno and Karl Hyde continues with second full-length record HIGH LIFE, to be released July 1, 2014 on Warp Records. The experiment drew inspiration from the repetitive minimalism of composers like Steve Reich and Phillip Glass, and from the polyrhythmic music of Fela Kuti and funk, as well as continuing the work that Eno and Hyde have done separately.

When SOMEDAY WORLD was finished I felt like we were still on a roll and I wasn’t ready to stop working and get into ‘promotional mode’ for that record. So I suggested we immediately start on another album, a different one, where we extended some of the ideas we’d started, and attempted some of the ideas we hadn’t.
– Brian Eno

I wanted to work with a stripped down set of equipment… For this album I was very keen for Brian to live process my guitar playing so that we would be effecting one another’s performance, bouncing off each other, inspiring new combinations of polyrhythms.
– Karl Hyde
ENO • HYDE high life

01. Return (09.00)
02. DBF (04.14)
03. Time To Waste It (08.19)
04. Lilac (09.24)
05. Moulded Life (04.55)
06. Cells & Bells (07.41)

July 1, 2014
CD in digipack with 16 page booklet

Digital (WARPCDD255)
July 1, 2014
Includes “Slow Down, Sit Down & Breathe”

August 26, 2014
2LP in gatefold sleeve with printed inner sleeves and download code

A. 1 Return (9:00)
A. 2 Slow Down, Sit Down & Breathe (3:07)
B.1 Lilac (9:24)
B.2 Moulded Life (4:55)
C. 1 DBF (4:14)
C. 2 Time To Waste It (8:19)
D.1 On A Grey Day (5:43)
D.2.Cells And Bells (7:41)

Artwork: Brian Eno
Design: Nick Robertson

We Are Noize ‘Bad Gyal’ (Free Download)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.

badGyal copyWe Are Noize ‘Bad Gyal’
The first single to be taken from their forthcoming EP ‘Meat’
Out Now as a free download
EP to download from 16th June 2014

Following their release of debut single ‘Dollar Flick’, We Are Noize are back with a 4 track EP entitled ‘Meat’ which they will give away entirely free.

The first of four – ‘Bad Gyal’ is an explosion of thumping drums and aggressive synths over the equally fierce vocals, packing an almighty punch!

We Are Noize is a new musical project featuring Maxim of The Prodigy and a group of like minded collaborators, smashing the boundaries of their own sonic universe. A unique collective created to make music outside the norm, ‘We Are Noize’ has become the latest side project in a fresh direction for Maxim whist staying fiercely committed to his roots as Prodigy frontman.

A group of friends who all share the same passion for music. Whether it’s experimental, or a sound that just doesn’t follow trends, they realised that they all had the same vision – to write and produce good music. ‘


Milky Chance – Down by the River (Official Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.

Track of The Day: Dose – Haphazard

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.

DOSE - Mind The Future
Hailing from the broken city of Christchurch and recently relocating to Auckland, Mr Truman, has knuckled down to finally bring us his long awaited debut LP, “MIND THE FUTURE” on Commercial Suicide – 2nd June 2014
We have an Exclusive track for you “Haphazard”,preview album here

Fedbymachines – Abyss EP (Preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.

Fedbymachines - Abyss EPNetherlands-based Fedbymachines brings us lush experimental atmospherics steeped in emotion. Lots of subtle elements come together in an intricate meticulous mix of sound. He describes his own sound as quite melancholy and dusty, an apt description for the 5-tracks that he has put together for us.

With previous releases on both Warminal and Broken Bubble in 2011 and a few compilation appearances since then, it’s about time we had something new from Fedbymachines and ahead of another EP release later this year, this is the perfect 5-track primer.

01 Fedbymachines – No Surprises
02 Fedbymachines – Abyss
03 Fedbymachines – One More Day
04 Fedbymachines – Gorge
05 Fedbymachines – Wayfaring

Get it HERE

Download:Preditah – Bass Low

Posted in News with tags , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.

Gerry Read – Socialize / Charcoal

Posted in News with tags , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.