Archive for Air Texture

Air Texture Volume II

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 9, 2012 by dk

The Air Texture Volume Series asks two producers to curate a CD each of material for combined release. Producers are selected from the worlds of ambient, modern composition, avant-garde, and experimental electronic music.

As electronic music moves into the rock arena, it’s essential to take note and respect the history of experimental electronic music: from Satie’s furniture music and La Monte Young’s drones to Cage’s I Ching compositions and Eno’s works first dubbed by him as Ambient.

From there and in the tradition of Excursions in Ambience and Pop Ambient, Air Texture looks to catalogue and promote the diverse world of new ambient, experimental, and less beat oriented electronic music, through the musician’s perspective.

Highlights include Brian McBride (Stars of the Lid), Pan American (Labradford), and Simon Scott (Slowdive) among many others.

artist selected by loscil and Rafael Anton Irisarri
title Air Texture Volume II
label Air Texture
date 2 July 2012

format CD

CD 1 : loscil Selection
01 Brian McBride – At a Loss
02 Marcus Fischer – A Fifth Season
03 loscil – Else
04 Chris Herbert – Naimina
05 Pan American – Tx
06 Strategy – Frog City
07 Solo Andata – Before Sunsets
08 P Jørgensen – 401
09 Rob Bridgett – Field 3
10 Mitchell Akiyama – Dirge for the Canon

CD 2 : Rafael Anton Irisarri Selection
01 Marcus Fjellström – The Eroding
02 Sawako – Hovering
03 Simon Scott – Modena
04 Library Tapes – Och natten andades redan under träden
05 Lissom – Hollow of Winter
06 Mokira – I love you pipecock
07 Benoît Pioulard – If I could possibly tell the difference,
I wouldn’t care anyway
08 Eluvium – Sleeper
09 Kyle Bobby Dunn – La Passerelle de ses yeux
10 Rafael Anton Irisarri – Black days follow me around
11 Lawrence English – Cooperative Drift
12 bvdub – Surrender To Your Cold Embrace (feat. Wang Lijing & Lu Yan)


Air Texture Vol. 1

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on September 14, 2011 by dk

Ambient today isn’t so much about psychedelics or chilling out as it is presenting the melodic or beatless fabric of dance music. Stripped of prevalent rhythm, songs tend toward melodic composition and detail. These songs may become “compositional” as individuals express themselves with technology under focused or emotive ideals. The music becomes timeless (free of meter) when the music looses its structure while retaining its idea.

In the tradition of Excursions in Ambience, Instinct Ambient, and Pop Ambient, Air Texture looks to catalogue and promote the diverse world of ambient, experimental, and less beat oriented electronic music.

The Air Texture Volume Series asks two producers to curate a CD each of material for combined release. Volume I looked to bvdub (Brock Van Wey) and Andrew Thomas for guidance. Selections featured an in-depth list of emerging and established artists such as Oneohtrix Point Never, Ian Hawgood, Atlas Sound, Klimek, loscil, Biosphere, Markus Guentner, and Wolfgang Voigt. Volume II will be selected by loscil and Rafael Anton Irisarri. Volume III by Deadbeat and DJ Olive. Air Texture’s mission is to present a diverse array of electronic music that is not dance floor oriented. Hopefully from this a beautiful display of narrative, formless – yet formed – musical ideas will be presented and absorbed by sympathetic ears worldwide. Air Texture’s guiding principles are:

Music out of musical form becomes omniscient – a representative sound defining all of our experiences at once. Songs out of song structure become singular – free of history – revealing a hidden world in constant, empathic reverberation.

Air Texture was founded by James Healy (Escape Art), co-founder of the Agriculture Records in Brooklyn.

Artist: Various Artists
Title: Air Texture Vol. 1
Label: Air Texture
Format: CD
Release: 31.10.11

CD 1: bvdub Selection
1. Orla Wren – A Canvas For Your Yearning
2. Rafael Anton Irisarri – Flowstone
3. Let’s Go Outside – Hold Still Without Me
4. bvdub – Tried So Hard
5. Maps and Diagrams – The Shape of Things To Come
6. Ian Hawgood – Me, You and Nagano
7. Hessien – The Ghost and Mrs. Muir
8. Konntinent & Ian Hawgood – Ollo
9. The Green Kingdom – Kalimba Sketch
10. Ryonkt – Return
11. Arc of Doves – I Remember When

CD 2: Andrew Thomas Selection
1. Klimek – Ice Storm (Prelude to a Fratricide)
2. Andrew Thomas – Black Sky Bright Sun
3. Atlas Sound – Diorama Rendered
4. Oneohtrix Point Never – Sand Partina
5. Chihei Hatakeyama – Road After Rain
6. Klimek – Live in Murmansk (re-arranged excerpt)
7. loscil – Hyphae
8. Biosphere – Iberia 5
9. Markus Guentner – Senses
10. Oneohtrix Point Never – Alexander Scriabin (edit)
11. Bevan Smith and Tristan Dingemans – Dispatch 1
12. Leyland Kirby – Departure
13. Markus Guentner – To the Place
14. Wolfgang Voigt – Fresko 1