Archive for Cobby

The Cutler – The Best Things In Life Aren’t Things

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on July 7, 2012 by dk

The self-titled debut album from The Cutler garnered great praise from BBC Radio 1‘s Rob Da Bank, who stated that it was, “Beautiful! Lovin’ The Cutler. Ace to hear some proper downtempo music being made again!” MixmagStraight No Chaser,NME and The Face are but a handful of publications that also heaped praise over the album. But now The Cutler are back with a fresh album comprising of twelve electronic, downtempo creations called The Best Things In Life Aren’t Things.

Cobby is a musician, composer, producer, and occasional DJ, he is also fifty percent of Fila Brazillia (with David McSherry), fifty percent of Hey, Rube! (with Stephen Mallinder), fifty percent of J*S*T*A*R*S (with Sim Lister), one third of Heights of Abraham (with Sim Lister and Jake Harries), and all of The Solid DoctorPorky is resident DJ at The Wellyin Hull with StopMakingSense every Saturday night and mastermind of the much revered Pork Recordings record label – a fiercely independent label specialising in electronica, and hugely important in the downtempo arena.

The Best Things In Life Aren’t Things features two guest vocalists; Russell Morgan (Revolution) and Andrew Taylor(Pyramid Of Power). Norfolk-based Andrew Taylor is also a composer of electro, ambient, funk, psych-folk in a deft and touching style, with an ability to make the lo-fi sound wide and expansive. Extraordinary folk blues guitarist and songwriter, Russell Morgan, lives and writes in Cheshire, UK. Russell’s sound is defined by his honey soaked growl, writing style and a unique guitar approach. His voice and sound is a marriage of traditional acoustic folk, alternative rock and blues; revealing echoes of John Martyn and Richie Havens.

This new album from The Cutler is best described as being a beautiful record that fuses a whole range of different sounds into a brooding electronic journey featuring raw funk elements, jazzy guitar grooves and deep disco-style instrumentals. A twelve-track excursion into the more downtempo end of the contemporary electronic spectrum, and delivered on CD and digital download via Steel Tiger Records.


01. Samizdat
02. Pyramid Of Power
03. Nightbirds
04. Revolution
05. P-A-Y-R
06. Weltschmerz
07. Teach Yourself Braille
08. 200 Pharaohs – 6 Billion Slaves
09. That’s What I Feel
10. Sync Estate
11. Burn The Bankers
12. Black Sheep