Archive for Company of Thieves

Pretty Good Dance Moves feat. Sabina Sciubba (Brazilian Girls) “8th Movement (I Wonder Why)” MP3+ Album LIMO out 2/7/12

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on November 2, 2011 by dk

“Remember when VHS tapes came in colors, specifically bubblegum pink? This is the sonic version of that.” – RCRD LBL

“…a triumphant little electro-pop track that tickles hearts and synths and hearts like Passion Pit, trades and harmonizes vocals like Ra Ra Riot or those guys behind “Young Folks.”  –Stereogum

Pretty Good Dance Moves announce their new album LIMO to be released on February 7th, 2012. For this full-length, which will be released on MAD Dragon/Township, the band enlisted the sultry vocals of Brazilian Girls’ singer Sabina Sciubba.

Download Pretty Good Dance Moves – I Wonder Why (Feat. Sabina Sciubba)

A long form music video to accompany LIMO was produced by French filmmaker Antoine Wagner (credits include “From a Mess to the Masses” a documentary about the rise of the French rock band Phoenix as well as their music video “Listomania”) and will be available shortly.

The synthy-electro dance band Pretty Good Dance Moves with Jimmy Giannopoulosand Aaron Allietta at the core, is based out of Brooklyn, NY and spent the last few years cutting tracks with dozens of collaborators, including Bjorn Yttling (Peter Bjorn & John), Lissy TrulliePatience Hodgson (The Grates), Linnea Jonsson (Those Dancing Days) & Genevieve Schatz (Company of Thieves).  The band released their self-titled debut PGDM EP in 2010.

Pretty Good Dance Moves new album LIMO was cut at their Brooklyn apartment and in Paris, France. This new album crosses electro-experimental-ambient and disco boundaries and takes a different approach from their previous recordings. LIMO is 32 minutes long, composed of 8 movements and intended to be listened to as one complete work from start to finish.  PGDM’s intention was to make a record, not singles!  Sabina Sciubba of Brazilian Girls is the featured vocalist on LIMO and sings in 3 different languages (English, German and French).

Pretty Good Dance Moves was born when the group combined their analog synths and drum machine collections and began experimenting with electro/dance tracks in 2006. After a few years of experimenting the group cut some demos which were released by the group independently. These recordings caught the attention of Seattle’s influential KEXP radio station, which invited the band to do an in-studio while they were broadcasting in Chicago for a week. This dynamic performance, which was their first ever, immediately launched the band into the spotlight, with a KEXP staff member later naming it the best in-studio of the year. Meanwhile, Spin Magazine decided to premiere their video starring the correspondent from the Daily Show/ Flight of the Conchords personality Kristen Schaal.

Pretty Good Dance Moves
(2/7/12 on MAD Dragon / Township Records)

Track listing LIMO:
01. 1st Movement
02. 2nd Movement
03. 3rd Movement
04. 4th Movement
05. 5th Movement
06. 6th Movement
07. 7th Movement
08. 8th Movement (I Wonder Why)