Archive for Composer

Berlin Composer Nils Frahm Debuts New Track,Album Tease and Begins US Tour

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on September 25, 2013 by J.D.

Nils Frahm - SaysBerlin-based contemporary composer Nils Frahm gives fans a further preview of his new album, Spaces,(out November 19th on Erased Tapes), by revealing a full stream of album track ‘Says’ as well as the album artwork.

 Fans can pre-order the release from the label store here. Frahm is about to embark on a string of West Coast shows this week with Ólafur ArnaldsPeter Broderick, and Hauschka in support of Spaces, celebrated with a special album release concert in New York City at Le Poisson Rouge on November 25th

 Known for his unconventional approach to an age-old instrument, as well as his collaborations and production work for contemporaries such as Ólafur Arnalds, Peter Broderick and most recently Sarah Neufeld of Arcade Fire, Frahm has performed at events like Mutek, Boiler Room, Decibel and  Primavera, as well as in traditional concert spaces. ‘Says’ brings together many of the instruments Nils has on stage during a live performance. The Juno synthesiser, Fender Rhodes electric piano, tape delay and grand piano, all give the track an otherworldly sound. The album cover contains a die-cut through which you can see an image of Nils in his live setup taken from above, plus additional images, which can be used as alternative covers.

 Spaces was recorded over the course of two years in different locations and on various mediums, including old portable reel-to-reel recorders and cassette tape decks, these moments were later pieced together in his Durton Studio and referred to by Frahm as a collage of field recordings rather than a live album.
Nils Frahm – Spaces (Official Album Teaser)

Spaces Tracklisting

1. An Aborted Beginning
2. Says
3. Said And Done
4. Went Missing
5. Familiar
6. Improvisation For Piano, Laughs, Coughs And A Cell Phone
7. Hammers
8. For-Peter-Toilet Brushes-More
9. Over There, It’s Raining
10. Unter-Tristana-Ambre
11. Ross’s Harmonium

Nils Frahm Tour Dates

09/26 SEATTLE (WA) : Decibel Festival – Oliveray set with Peter Broderick
09/27 SEATTLE (WA) : Decibel Festival x Erased Tapes with Ólafur Arnalds
09/28 PORTLAND (OR) : Mississippi Studios with Ólafur Arnalds
09/29 SAN FRANCISCO (CA) : Regency Ballroom with with Ólafur Arnalds & Hauschka
10/01 LOS ANGELES (CA) : First Unitarian Church with Ólafur Arnalds & Hauschka
11/25 NEW YORK (NY) : Le Poisson Rouge – ‘SPACES’ Album Release Concert


Ableton Live authority Laura Escudé to release debut CD “Pororoca” + must-see video and free track “Pororoca”

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on April 20, 2010 by J.D.

Critically-acclaimed musician and technologist Laura Escudé to release debut artist CD Pororoca

Pororoca encompasses a myriad of genres, utilizing live electronics, synthesis, found sounds, samples and violin affected by hardware and software. It’s a masterpiece that brings her early influence of Cage, Stockhausen, Autechre, Squarepusher, Monolake, FSOL and Aphex Twin into the future.

Laura Escudé
Label: Electronic Creatives
**Release Date: June 15, 2010**

Free download of title track “Pororoca”

Watch the video for “Pororoca” (Directed by Scott Pagano)

We’re excited to present you with Pororoca – the debut CD release from critically-acclaimed music technologist, violinist, composer, sound designer and educator Laura Escudé. Based in Los Angeles, Escudé is perhaps the most technically skilled and gifted electronic music artist we’ve seen in a long time – period. Bold statement, yes, but there’s a lot to back it up.

Laura specializes in the software program Ableton Live and is the “Ableton Live authority” in Los Angeles. In fact, she was L.A.’s first Certified Ableton Trainer, (as well as one of the first in the world) and now personally conducts the West Coast certification events for Ableton. Her innovative approach to music, technology and community has propelled her to do consulting and music work for numerous high-level artists and companies. In 2009 she worked with Cirque du Soleil on their production “Viva Elvis” as an Ableton Live programmer, toured Europe on violin and electronics with acclaimed world music band Niyaz, was a tour consultant for Kayne West and recorded violin on EastWest’s Quantum Leap Silk sound library. She collaborates with some of the most innovative minds in music and technology through her new media collective Electronic Creatives and launched the popular Ableton Live Master Class series in 2009.

Technically superior, Pororoca is crafted with a combination of Ableton Live, foot and hand controllers, Logic, Native Instruments plug ins, field recordings and instruments including Violin (4 string, 5 string and electric) and Cello. Even though the album is largely electronic in nature it’s full of real emotion. Of course, much of this has to do with the fact that this is just not an album of tracks, but rather, a collection where each piece tells a different story. The title – Pororoca – has double meaning. First, quite literally in connecting with the record it means “tumultuous noise.” Second, Pororoca is the name of the longest “rideable” tidal wave on earth (someone once rode the wave for 38 minutes). A video accompaniment to the title track was created by multi-media visual artist Scott Pagano; known for collaborating with a wide range of musicians including Speedy J, James Zabiela, Richard Devine, Christopher Willits, Trifonic, Eskmo/Welder, BT, and Michael Jackson. Pagano directed and executed the conception, design, animation, and finishing of the “Pororoca” video for Laura Escudé.

Beyond her music technology work, Laura has recorded violin for composers, including Carmen Rizzo and Eric Whitacre, as well as for artists, including Sage Francis, Solillaquists of Sound and PlatEAU. She has created sound design for the films Lovewrecked and Red is the Color of, and has recorded violin for films, including Michael Apted’s documentary The Power of the Game, HBO’s The Song Story, Kissing Cousins and Welcome Home. A mainstay in the Los Angeles music scene, Laura has performed at numerous locations, including Create:Fixate, the Architecture and Design Museum, Los Angeles Museum of Art, the Pacific Design Center and the Downtown Independent. Her emotional yet technical violin playing and breathtaking electronic sounds have found her opening for well-respected artists such as Robert Rich and Funkstorung.

Laura attended Vanderbilt University, Florida State University and attended the Film Scoring program at UCLA Extension. Classically trained in violin since the age of six, Escudé often performs with bands and ensembles, including Niyaz, Trace Element, Santa Monica Symphony, Torrance Symphony, Multi-Ethnic Star Orchestra (MESTO), Tampa Bay Symphony, Pensacola Symphony and the Observatory Orchestra.


01. Birds Are Electric
02. Sketch
03. Pororoca
04. Nabhidance
05. Final Fantasy
06. Handsome Prize Fighter
07. Saturated
08. Truest Form
09. Associated Euphoria
10. Noncommittal

***In addition to digital and CD versions of the release, Pororoca will also be available as a special USB card loaded with the music, video and artwork***

Clip from the “Pororoca” video – an exploration through a mysterious underwater world inspired by the forms and movement of sea life and micro organisms. Hybrid organic and synthetic creatures undulate and wander through heavy waters in concert with the cinematic soundtrack.
Promotional stuff arrived via email (extramusicnew(at) ,
send your stuffs via e mail or soundcloud, promote yourself…!!!