Archive for Ennio Morricone

Thievery Corporation – Saudade

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on March 20, 2014 by dk

Thievery Corporation - SaudadeWhen they met in the mid-1990s, Thievery Corporation’s Eric Hilton and Rob Garza instantly bonded over their shared passion for bossa nova. Dedicating their 1996 debut ‘Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi’ to bossa nova pioneer Antonio Carlos Jobim, the Washington, D.C.-based duo have spent nearly two decades creating boundary-warping, complexly crafted electronic music partly inspired by bossa nova’s intricate rhythms and lush textures. Now, with their seventh studio album ‘Saudade,’

Thievery Corporation present their first release devoted entirely to the Brazilian-born genre that first connected them. “We always try to progress into something different and stretch our musical chops, and taking a whole album to dive into this one sound seemed like a really great way to do that,” says Hilton. Adds Garza: “It’s a bit of a departure for us, but at the same time these are our roots, this is what brought us together. It’s us coming full circle from electronic music back to something organic before we move on to our next chapter.”

Thievery Corporation – Saudade 

1. Decollage
2. Meu Nego
3. Quem Me Leva
4. Firelight
5. Sola In Citta
6. No More Disguise
7. Saudade
8. Claridad
9. Nos Dois
10. Le Coeur
11. Para Sempre
12. Bateau Rouge
13. Depth Of My Soul
Released on their own label ESL Music, ‘Saudade’ borrows its title from a Portuguese word meaning “a longing for something or someone that is lost, a contented melancholy, or, simply, the presence of absence.” “Saudade is the essence or feeling of true bossa nova,” explains Hilton, who names “those warm, soulful, melancholic vocals” as one of the elements of bossa nova that’s most alluring to him.

Drawing influence from classic Brazilian performers like Antonio Carlos Jobim, Gal Costa, and Luis Bonfá—along with Serge Gainsbourg, Ennio Morricone, and more modern artists like electro-samba pioneer Isabelle Antena—Saudade achieves its delicate yet deeply sensuous sound with the help of more than a dozen guest musicians. With each track sung by one of five female vocalists (including longtime Thievery cohort LouLou Ghelichkhani, newcomer Elin Melgarejo, Nouvelle Vague singer Karina Zeviani, Argentine chanteuse Natalia Clavier, and former Bitter:Sweet singer/songwriter Shana Halligan), the endlessly mesmerizing album also features such guests as U.N.K.L.E. drummer Michael Lowery, Argentine singer/songwriter Federico Aubele, and master Brazilian percussionist Roberto Santos.


Download:Drop The Lime – Outlaws

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on June 28, 2012 by dk

Ahead of the release of his new album ‘Enter The Night’ (out Monday), Drop The Lime is offering a free download of never-before-heard track ‘Outlaws’ through his Soundcloud page now.

With a passion for bass and a thirst for blood, ‘Enter The Night’ sees DTL riding the range from the ashes of rave into the dark heart of rock & roll. Combining the gunslinging swagger of Ennio Morricone, the techno grandeur of Underworld, and the storytelling prowess of Johnny Cash, his music (like his life) is an epic adventure of mystery, heartbreak, and magic.

The world knows Luca Venezia as a globetrotting DJ/producer and the founder of Brooklyn’s Trouble & Bass label. As Drop the Lime, he’s been fearlessly casting spells over clubs and festivals around the world for years, as well as remixing the likes of Robyn and Moby and producing for Spankrock and Bosco Del Rey. Venezia’s name is synonymous with dance music in New York – born and bred in Manhattan, the glittering, grimy pulse of the city is the main inspiration behind DTL’s now-infamous heavy bass sound.

(download)Pilooski -XLR8R podcast 150

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on July 7, 2010 by dk

French re-edit master Pilooski is a bit of a man of mystery—he’s got a hand in running the Dirty label collective and he continues to drop insanely good re-workings of vintage tunes, yet he remains largely in the shadows. However, as of late he’s been poking his head out of his production cave, both to put together this exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast and to work with new French outfit The Aikiu, who just released its debut single “Just Can’t Sleep” with Pilooski behind the boards. As for this mix, Pilooski delves into his usual bag of tricks, combining rare slices of pop, disco, house, and other re-arranged musical selections into an oddly dark and psychedelic affair. He also intersperses the whole thing with bizarre sound clips of seemingly wholesome people talking about drugs, sex, and violence. It’s certainly a potent recipe.

(download) Pilooski -XLR8R podcast 150

01 Jean-Michel Jarre “Hypnose”
02 Alessi Brothers “Seabirds”
03 Alex Ward “Witnessing (Pilooski Edit)”
04 Unknown “Sweddish Mashup”
05 Poni Hoax “Antibodies (Chateau Flight Mix Edit)”
06 DJ Koze “unknown (Pilooski Edit)”
07 Koxo “Step by Step (Pilooski Edit)”
08 Anthony “Shake” Shakir “Sunrise (Pilooski Edit)”
09 Sixto Rodrigez “Sugarman”
10 Mr. Oizo “Puzique Edit”
11 Can “More (Pilooski Edit)”
12 Ennio Morricone “Dazed (Pilooski Edit)”
13 Yello “Senzatione (Pilooski Edit)”
14 The Coral “Music at Night (Pilooski Edit)”