Archive for Juno

Matthew Herbert -One Pig album October 10

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on July 5, 2011 by J.D.

Matthew Herbert has announced the impending release of his One Pig album, recorded entirely from the noises made by a pig he followed through birth, life, butchery and consumption.

 One Pig, due out on October 10, is the third and final part of an album trilogy from the English producer famed for his abstract and often politically charged approach towards making music. First was One One, which saw Herbert perform all instrumentation and vocals single-handedly, while One Club was fashioned from field recordings taken from a single night inside Offenbach’s hallowed Robert Johnson club.

Herbert will present a live version of the record at London’s Royal Opera House in early September, as part of the Just Tell The Truth festival. The logistics of this life performance, we think you’ll agree, are most intriguing. All full album launch (lunch?) is expected to take place the following month.

The album is scheduled for release on October 10 on Herbert’s Accidental Records label. Check out the full tracklisting below.


1. August 2009
2. September
3. October
4. November
5. December
6. January
7. February
8. August 2010
9. May 2011

(Juno report)

Martyn – Masks /Vipers EP +new Album “Ghost People” on Brainfeeder

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on June 30, 2011 by J.D.

Flying Lotus has revealed his Brainfeeder imprint will release Ghost People – the much awaited second album from Martyn in October.
A taste of what to expect arrives via the double A Side single Masks /Vipers.Due out digitally in August, the release further demonstrates the 3024 dons deviation away from the refined dubstep that formed his debut album towards an incendiary, grinding techno sound. “Masks” is perhaps best described as kaleidoscopic techno thump that ripples with gleeful metallic menace. Alongside it are two variants on “Vipers” which are both flushed with darkness.

Accompanying the news of this release were the following wise words from Martyn which perhaps inform the reasoning behind the name “Masks” as well as what drives him musically.

“People just like a certain sound and then they want more of that. But then when you give them more, they suddenly think you’re boring or one-dimensional. The best way to handle it is to not really listen to people, and just dictate what you want to do. Everyone has their angle, and puts on their mask forward. People use a shell to show who they want to be.”

Martyn will be in London next month, appearing at the seminal U Stream party known as Boiler Room on July 26 before guesting on Benji B’s Radio One show the following night.

Brainfeeder will release Masks /Vipers by Martyn digitally on August 1 with the vinyl to follow on September 5.


1. Masks
2. Viper (Ghost People Edit)
3. Viper (London’s Arches Edit)

(Juno report)

Floating Points and Fatima – Follow You

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on March 7, 2011 by J.D.

The first lady of Eglo has teamed up with the label’s golden boy, with Floating Points and Fatima announcing a collaborative EP entitled Follow You, set for release in May.

It follows Fatima’s memorable vocal turn on the recent Floating Points Ensemble 10″ release on Ninja Tune. On first listen this EP is endowed with a similar shimmering beauty, with languid, jazzy instrumentation sitting respectfully beneath the vocals, from the ethereal atmospherics of A Side opener “Cinnamon” to the raw 808 shuffle on “Red Light” and glacial synth work of “Innervision”.

Follow You will be released via Eglo Records on May 9, 2011.


1. Cinnamon
2. Innervision
3. Mind
4. Redlight

(Juno Report)

Juno Plus: Top 10 albums of 2010

Posted in News with tags , , on December 16, 2010 by J.D.

City Slang

2 ACTRESS SplazshHonest Jon’s

3 JOHN ROBERTS Glass Eights
Dial Records

4 DARKSTAR NorthHyperdub

5 WALLS Walls

6 ONRA Long DistanceAll City

7 MOUNT KIMBIE Crooks & LoversHotflush

8 COS/MES Chaosexotica
ESP Institute

9 TAME IMPALA Innerspeaker
Modular Recordings

10 LUKE ABBOTT Holkham Drones
Border Community

Ben Westbeech new album There’s More To Life Than This+Summer’s Loss (Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on December 16, 2010 by J.D.

Henrik Schwarz, MJ Cole and Motor City Drum Ensemble are among the collaborators on the upcoming Ben Westbeech album, scheduled for release in April 2011.

The British producer/multi instrumentalist will release a long player, entitled There’s More To Life Than This, on the revamped Strictly Rhythm imprint. Other collaborators include Boston house duo Soul Clap, Lovebirds aka Sebastian Döring and Sonar Kollektiv mainstay Georg Levin.(via Juno)

coming soon

Moodymann-Freeki Mutha F cker 2011 (incl.Juan Atkins’ Model 500&Egyptian Lover’s ReMix )

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on December 2, 2010 by J.D.

Moodymann’s hugely popular spoken word anthem “Freeki Mutha F cker” will get a re-release in early 2011, replete with remixes from Juan Atkins and Egyptian Lover.

 The original “Freeki Mutha F cker”, first released on the Det.riot ‘67 EP in 2009, sold out many moons ago and now fetches a tidy sum on Discogs.

This new 12″ – set for release of Moodymann’s own KDJ imprint –  features a previously unreleased version of the track, which thankfully leaves Mr Dixon Jnr’s distinctive throaty voice untouched.

This shares the A- Side with new track “California”, which contains more Moodymann musings and was recorded live in Detroit back in May 2007.

Flip over for Atkins’ Model 500 remix, which takes on a distinct analogue hue with gently undulating synth washes, while Egyptian Lover’s vintage electro remake rounds off the release.

The 12″ is due for release in late January 2011 via KDJ Records. You can check out the tracklisting and soundclips below.


A1 – Freeki Mutha F cker
A2 – California
B1 – Freeki Mutha F cker (Juan Atkins’ Model 500 Mix)
B2 – Freeki Mutha F cker (Egyptian Lover’s Mix)

(Juno Report)

Soul Jazz – Future Bass out September 20, 2010

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on August 24, 2010 by J.D.

Mala, Four Tet, Ramadanman and Untold are among the producers to feature in a new compilation from London based label Soul Jazz, entitled Future Bass. A teaser 12″ for the compilation was recently released, featuring stunning efforts from Four Tet and Mala. The rest of the tracklisting includes a healthy mixture of established heads – most notably Digital Mystikz man Coki and Hemlock boss Untold, alongside relatively unheralded producers like Distal and Randomer. Soul Jazz has made a name for releasing lovingly curated and colourfully designed compilations that focus on everything from obscure New York post-punk to German experimental rock and electronic music. Now it’s the turn of the underground bass scene, with its roots very much in the UK, to shine. The compilation will be released on a heavyweight triple vinyl, triple-vinyl. The CD version will come in deluxe plastic casing, complete with a set of limited edition postcards. It will be followed a series of 12-inches featuring more exclusive tracks by the artists included, kicking off with Untold.

 Future Bass will be released on September 20, 2010.


1. Mala – Don’t Let Me Go Listen
2. Four Tet – Nothing To See Listen
3. Untold – Fly Girls
4. Coki – Ransom
5. Ramadanman – Bass Drums
6. Black Chow – Air
7. LD – Mastermind
8. V.I.V.E.K – Talking Shadows
9. Randomer – Puzzled
10. Ginz – Boss
11. Harry Craze – Gone
12. Distal – Grape Donut
13. Sub Version – Free To Funk