Archive for Kid Koala

Kid Koala – ‘8 bit Blues (Chicago to LA to NY)’ (Official Video)

Posted in News with tags , , on August 10, 2012 by dk

Official video for Kid Koala’s ‘8 bit Blues’, taken from the album ’12 bit Blues’, released 17 September 2012 on Ninja Tune.


Kid Koala —Space Cadet: Original Still Picture Score

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on July 7, 2011 by dk

Released 19/09/2011

He’s the guardian robot programmed to protect the sweetest astronaut on this (or any) planet. But when she blasts off on a solo mission of outerspace adventure, he left to wonder…what now?

A tomorrow-days lullaby about finding your place in the universe, Space Cadet is a 132-page graphic novel drawn entirely on etchboards. It is accompanied by a “still picture score” of music composed and recorded by Kid Koala. This charming story of an adventurous space cadet and her guardian robot touches on the relationship between technology and isolation, and celebrates the idea of connectivity through family and the cycles that build generations.

1. Main Title Theme (Open Your Book)
2. Goodbye (Page 8)
3. Remembrance (Page 10)
4. Window (Page 25)
5. Today Tomorrow (Page 37)
6. Expedition (Page 45)
7. Birthday (Page 71)
8. Void (Page 86)
9. Dawn (Page 97)
10. Cardboard Stars, Sea Shells (Page 100)
11. Speed of Light (Page 102)
12. Recyclotron (Page 110)
13. Hope (Page 115)
14. Connectivity (Page 129)


Download:DJ Food & DK vs. Coldcut -XLR8R Podcast 170

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on October 30, 2010 by dk

XLR8R has been reveling in Ninja Tune’s 20th anniversary all month long, and tonight the celebration steps up a notch with the Ninja Tune XX event in New York, to be followed this weekend by the equally enormous San Francisco and Los Angeles parties. To help ramp everyone up ahead of time, we’re also sharing the final installment of our special Ninja Tune XX podcast series, and it’s a doozy. Label founders Coldcut have teamed up with old-school Ninja Tune acts DJ Food and DK to assemble this massive mix which spans Ninja Tune’s extensive discography. Over the course of 70-plus minutes and more than 40 tracks, the Solid Steel veterans touch on the many eras, sounds, and styles of the venerable label’s diverse history.

Download:DJ Food & DK vs. Coldcut -XLR8R Podcast 170

01 The Herbaliser “Wall Crawling Giant Insect Breaks” (Ninja Tune)
02 The Heavy “How You Like Me Now” (Counter)
03 Amon Tobin “Sordid” (Ninja Tune)
04 Happy Campers “No Mind” (Ninja Tune)
05 Cadence Weapon “Getting Dumb” (Big Dada)
06 Ryuichi Sakamoto “Anger (Rare Force 2 Meg Mix) “Ninja Tune
07 Bonobo “Pick Up” (Ninja Tune)
08 Thunderheist “Sweet 16” (Big Dada)
09 Mr. Scruff “Get A Move On” (Ninja Tune)
10 DJ Food “Peace Pt. 1” (Ninja Tune)
11 Daedelus “Make It So (XXXchange Mix) ” Ninja Tune
12 Coldcut “Walk a Mile in My Shoes” (Ninja Tune)
13 Kentaro “Free (acapella)” (Ninja Tune)
14 TTC “Travailler” (Big Dada)
15 Spank Rock “Rick Rubin” (Big Dada)
16 Zero dB “Bongos, Bleeps & Basslines” (Ninja Tune)
17 Diplo “Percao” (Big Dada)
18 Coldcut & Hexstatic “Timber (Seiji Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
19 Bonobo “Eyesdown (Warrior One Mix)” (Ninja Tune)
20 Thunderheist “Jerk It” (Big Dada)
21 Jammer “One Over Me Tune”
22 Hexstatic “Distorted Minds (Zero dB Mix)” (Ninja Tune)
23 Coldcut “Atomic Moog (Qemists Remix) ” (Ninja Tune)
24 Shuttle “Tunnel” (Ninja Tune)
25 Wiley “Syer Pussy Instrumental”
26 DJ Vadim “The Terrorist” (Ninja Tune)
27 Coldcut “More Beats N Pieces (USA Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
28 Diplo “News Flash” (Big Dada)
29 The Heavy “How You Like Me Now (Coldcut Remix)”
30 Toddla T “Sky Surfing (Benga Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
31 The Bug “Catch a Fire” (Ninja Tune)
32 Coldcut “Man In a Garage (King Jammy Mix)” (Ninja Tune)
33 Ghislain Porier feat. Face T “Blazin’ (Modeselektor Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
34 DJ Vadim “The Terrorist (Gaslamp Computer Killer Mix)” (Ninja Tune)
35 DJ Food “Dark Lady (Alix Perez Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
36 DJ Food “20/20 Rhythm (90-110bpm)” (Ninja Tune)
37 Kid Koala “3 Bit Blues” (Ninja Tune)
38 Pop Levi “Blue Honey (Amorphous Androgynous Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
39 Daedelus “Impending Doom (Rustie Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
40 Coldcut “Timber (Super Sargasso Orb Mix)” (Ninja Tune)
41 Andreya Triana “Lost Where I Belong (Flying Lotus Remix)” (Ninja Tune)
42 Jono McCleery “Tomorrow” (Ninja Tune)
43 Diplo “Summer’s Gonna Hurt You (Diplo 2010 Mix)” (Ninja Tune)

DJ Vadim-Terrorist 12″ out Dec 6th(Preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on October 21, 2010 by dk

Release Date: Dec 6th
Artist: DJ Vadim
Title: Terrorist 12″
A: The Terrorist (MIR Crew Remix)
B: The Terrorist (Prototypes Remix)
Cat no: ZEN12276
Barcode: 5021392634166
Label: Ninja Tune

One of Ninja Tune’s classic tracks remixes for 20th Anniversary celebrations. ‘The Terrorist’ is one of Ninja Tune’s most known and loved tracks. The Prototypes are been receiving raving reviews and multiple plays from Zane Lowe on Radio 1 and DJ Friction. One of Ninja Tune’s original pioneers, DJ Vadim has a very strong fan base stretching back over eight albums, and over ten years Worked with artists including DJ Krush, Kid Koala, Anti-Pop Consortium, Scratch Perverts, Mr Thing, Killer Kella and lots more.
Dj Vadim – The Terrorist (MIR Crew remix)

DJ Vadim – The Terrorist (The Prototypes Remix)

Ninja Tune XX – 20 Years Of Beats ‘n’ Pieces – Limited Boxset out september 20th on Ninja Tune

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 2, 2010 by dk

Various – Ninja Tune XX – 20 Years Of Beats ‘n’ Pieces
(Boxset/CD/CD) Ninja Tune ZENCD160X/ZENCD160/ZENC160R, 2010-09-20

Ninja Tune: 20 Years of Beats & Pieces is the latest in Black Dog Publishing’s popular Labels Unlimited series. To mark the 20th anniversary of this truly unique and groundbreaking record label, established by Coldcut’s Matt Black and Jonathan More, 20 Years of Beats & Pieces includes exclusive interviews with many of the key artists and label staff from Ninja Tune and its successful subsidaries including Big Dada and Counter.

Ninja Tune’s impressive roster of artists includes Coldcut, DJ Food, Amon Tobin, Mr Scruff, Roots Manuva, Cinematic Orchestra, Bonobo, Ty, The Heavy, Speech Debelle, The Herbaliser, Spank Rock, Funki Porcini, DJ Vadim, Daedelus, Kid Koala, The Bug and Wiley. 20 Years of Beats & Pieces is lavishly illustrated with original photographs and illustrations plundered from the deepest depths of Ninja Tune and their artists’ archives.

20 Years of Beats & Pieces is a stylish and exhaustive survey telling the story of the record label, the artists themselves, their art and the ways in which their influence was and still is felt in larger culture. A truly inspirational tale, beginning with Black and More crossing paths in the mid-80s and going on to form the chart topping Coldcut. When touring Japan 20 years ago, they grew tired of how the staid, uncomprehending major label was manipulating the group and they had the vision and drive to break free and set up Ninja Tune – a label that remains as innovative today as it was then.

An ecclectic and colourful volume, 20 Years of Beats & Pieces is an indispensable book for anyone with an interest in electronic music, independent labels and the music industry.

Links :