Archive for Kylie Minogue

Icelandic Collective múm Returns with New Album Out Sept 17

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on June 13, 2013 by dk

múm Debuts Video for New Single ‘Toothwheels’  

Fourth Full-length Album Smilewound Out Sept 17

mumIcelandic experimental-pop collective múm have debuted a new 7-inch single, ‘Toothwheels,’ taken from their forthcoming album, Smilewound, out September 17 on Morr Music. The video for the single is a jigsaw collaboration between múm, Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson & Bruno Granato. Starting off with echoes of their millenium-era rhythms, flourishing strings and teeming arpeggios elevate the track and the lulling vocals disguise the songs fatalistic lyrics, evoking an eerie sense of immateriality.

Smilewound was recorded in the band’s studio, an old Baltic farmhouse, and on the kitchen table after dinner, among other places, and was produced by múm themselves. Formed in 1997 by original membersGunnar Örn Tynes and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárasoneing, the band has hosted a revolving door of players over the years, and sees the return of third founding member Gyða Valtýsdóttir on this new release.

Following their 2009 album, Sing Along To Songs You Don’t Know, the band’s fourth effort shows the juxtaposing of two conflicting meanings, taking advantage of the energy created through the tension between both. Sparser in sound than many of its predecessors, it’s an airy, relaxed record.  múm’s capability to build playful electronic sound-ornaments around simple melodies is in full bloom, and these days they know that trimming the ornamentation can strengthen the melody. It’s no wonder antipodean pop-princess Kylie Minogue wanted to collaborate with them on ‘Whistle,’ the main song in 2012 film Jack & Diane, and were hand-picked by Brian Eno to attend last years’s edition of Norway’s Punkt Festival.

Smilewound Tracklisting mum
Smilewound Tracklisting

1. Toothwheels
2. Underwater Snow
3. When Girls Collide
4. Slow Down
5. Candlestick
6. One Smile
7. Eternity Is The Wait Between Breaths
8. The Colorful Stabwound
9. Sweet Impressions
10. Time To Scream And Shout
11. Whistle (With Kylie)


Introducin​g NERVO – Rising stars of the Global EDM scene

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on September 8, 2011 by dk

You may be seeing the name NERVO for the first time, or you may have seen the lovely Australian ladies opening for Britney Spears and Nicki Minaj earlier this summer, but their recent release for their single “We’re All No One” is not the Astralwerks/EMI duo’s first toe in the music industry water, so to speak. Already proud owners of two global undergound club hits, their breakthrough came when they wrote David Guetta’s smash hit “When Love Takes Over” featuring Kelly Rowland which reached #1 in 11 countries and went on to win a Grammy in 2010. Since then the girls, twin sisters Miriam “Mim” Nervo and Olivia “Liv” Nervo, have been collaborating a with a bevy stellar DJ talent of world-wide recording artists, including dance luminaries Steve Aoki, Avicii, Armin van Buuren, Kaskade, Afrojack, Laidback Luke, Dadalife and John Dahlback as well as penning pop hits for the likes of Ke$ha, Kylie Minogue, The Pussycat Dolls, Jennifer Hudson, and more.
Their multi-track digital single “We’re All No One” featuring Afrojack and Steve Aoki was released last week and is available on all digital music outlets, including iTunes, in the U.S. and Beatport globally. The single is their first release for label Astralwerks/ Virgin Records and is the duo’s first commercial solo release the features the two of them stepping up to the mic to perform vocals. The song is a marked departure in style and sound from their more underground dance floor productions of the past year, and showcases a daring new vision, that sets its sights on the future of pop, electro and dance synergies. Head over to Nervo’s Youtube channel to watch the lyric video for the single.
NERVO just completed a highly successful month of DJ dates, in which they launched a Las Vegas residency with the Wynn group, and energized audiences coast to coast as part Identity Festival, the first electronic music travelling roadshow in the U.S.

Multi-Track Single Tracklist
1. We’re All No One (Edit)
2. We’re All No One (Nervo Goes to Paris Remix)
3. We’re All No One (Hook N Sling Remix)
4. We’re All No One (Dave Aude Club Mix)
5. We’re All No One (Jungle Fiction Remix)
6. We’re All No One (Original Mix)