Archive for Matthew Herbert

ESKA – ‘Gatekeeper’ EP

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on October 18, 2013 by dk

EskaPossessing one of the best and most memorable voices in the UK right now, ESKA weaves together diverse musical elements – hints of folk, soul, psychedelica and electronica can all be heard on ‘Gatekeeper’ – and pairs them with stirring lyrics, born from burning passion, which traverse scenes from church stories and rituals. With this debut release, ESKA has created something pure and timeless which echoes past traditions while at the same time managing to surprise with its stunning originality.

ESKA’s music has already created a buzz; receiving strong radio support from the likes of Gilles Peterson, who made the EP’s title song his track of the week on his BBC 6 Music show, Jamie Cullum, from BBC Radio 2 who described ‘Gatekeeper’ as “an unbelievable track, that will be hard to beat in 2013” and BBC Radio London’s Robert Elms who recently featured a sensational live performance of ‘She’s in the Flowers‘.

Having built an inimitable reputation as a writer and performer through collaborations with such legends of the game as Grace JonesCinematic OrchestraZero 7 and Bobby McFerrin together with performances in some of the world’s most famous venues and festivals, it’s time to discover ESKA’s own unique sound in full force on her new EPWith co-production on two tracks coming from electronic star Matthew Herbert, who has previously remixed tracks for BjörkR.E.M. and Yoko Ono‘Gatekeeper’ is sure to be unlike anything heard all year.

Prepare for the secret to be let out of the bag on November 20th with one of the year’s most hotly anticipated releases. With the buzz surrounding the ‘Gatekeeper’ EP building to a roar, it’s time to discover ESKA.


Jamie Lidell self-titled album out February 19 via Warp Records +Stream What A Shame

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on November 15, 2012 by dk





“Merging electronic beats and sounds with those of classic soul, Lidell has created a new future-retro R&B that simultaneously evokes and revitalizes the sound of a bygone era.”-The Believer

Jamie Lidell’s upcoming self-titled recording is the fifth full-length release from the critically acclaimed artist, whose previous records have been praised by the New York Times as “exceedingly precise and lovely,” including 2008’sJim, whichwas named Best Pop/Rock Album by the Independent Music Awards. Please see complete track listing for Jamie Lidell below.

Known for bringing together disparate musical influences, Jamie Lidell sites Mtume, Cameo, New Jack Swing, Bobby Brown and George Clinton as inspirations for the new release. “I referenced a lot of the analogue synth tones of the records I really love,” he says, “the question isn’t electronic music or not, it’s what are you trying to say with the electronics you choose.” Lidell recently moved from New York to Nashville and set up an expansive recording studio in his new home. “The whole house has become a recording studio,” Lidell says, “the entire album was recorded and mixed at home. I’m proud of that.”

Born and raised in England, Jamie Lidell debuted in 1997 with the EP Freekin the Fame. His most recent release is 2010’s Compass, which the New York Times called “compelling” and Spin praised as “genuinely soulful.” In addition to his solo albums, Lidell has released music with producer Cristian Vogel under the name Super Collider. He has also collaborated with artists including Feist, Simian Mobile Disco, Beck, Matthew Herbert, Chris Taylor, James Gadson and Gonzalez. 

1. I’m Selfish
2. Big Love
3. What A Shame
4. Do Yourself a Faver
5. You Naked
6. why_ya_why
7. Blaming Something
8. You Know My Name
9. So Cold
10. Don’t You Love Me
11. In Your Mind

JAMIE LIDELL is out on Warp Records on February 19, 2013.

Jamie Lidell – What A Shame (taken from self-titled album ‘Jamie Lidell’ out Feb 18/19)

Matthew Herbert -One Pig album October 10

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on July 5, 2011 by dk

Matthew Herbert has announced the impending release of his One Pig album, recorded entirely from the noises made by a pig he followed through birth, life, butchery and consumption.

 One Pig, due out on October 10, is the third and final part of an album trilogy from the English producer famed for his abstract and often politically charged approach towards making music. First was One One, which saw Herbert perform all instrumentation and vocals single-handedly, while One Club was fashioned from field recordings taken from a single night inside Offenbach’s hallowed Robert Johnson club.

Herbert will present a live version of the record at London’s Royal Opera House in early September, as part of the Just Tell The Truth festival. The logistics of this life performance, we think you’ll agree, are most intriguing. All full album launch (lunch?) is expected to take place the following month.

The album is scheduled for release on October 10 on Herbert’s Accidental Records label. Check out the full tracklisting below.


1. August 2009
2. September
3. October
4. November
5. December
6. January
7. February
8. August 2010
9. May 2011

(Juno report)

Recomposed by Matthew Herbert Mahler Symphony X (Deutsche Grammophon)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on April 5, 2010 by dk

Matthew Herbert has been tapped by Deutsche Grammophon’s for the next edition of its ReConfigured series.

It will be the fourth entry, following work from Armann Matthias, Jimi Tenor and Carl Craig & Moritz Von Oswald. This time around, though, instead of tackling a finished work of classical composition, Herbert has taken a slightly different tack; the UK experimentalist will recompose Mahler’s unfinished 10th Symphony. The work, which was nearly complete at the time of the composer’s death in 1911, is largely concerned with the theme of death.

Herbert has taken this idea to its logical extreme, building a car radio in a coffin, and letting one of the finished versions of the composition play on it to use for sampling purposes. The viola solo in the introduction, meanwhile, was reportedly made at Mahler’s grave. “My version will not only constitute the fascination of death, but an exaggeration of the awkward balance that Mahler produced between light and dark. It is the joy of conflict between the fear and the glory, ” says Herbert.

Deutsche Grammophon will release Recomposed by Matthew Herbert Mahler Symphony X on May 28, 2010.(RA)