Archive for Mixed Race

Tricky – Time To Dance Remixes (preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on June 11, 2011 by dk

Tricky is to release Time To Dance (RUG417D), from his most recent album Mixed Race, as a digital single on Monday the 18th of July 2011. The single will feature remixes from Maya Jane Coles, Doorly and FiFi Rong.
Mixed Race was released last September to great critical acclaim. Tricky has since completed tours of the UK, Australia, Europe and South America with many sold out shows. Tricky will be headlining Blissfields Festival in Winchester on July 2nd before heading into the studio with some interesting electronic artists – full details to follow!

The Time To Dance remixes have already been picking up support from a broad spectrum of dance music’s elite including Ramon Tapia, Plump DJs, John Selway, Groove Armada, Sister Bliss, Kruse & Nuernberg, Mighty Mouse, Hector Romero and Nick Warren. Here is further information on the remixers themselves:

With covers of Mixmag and DJ Mag Weekly already under her belt, and a Radio 1 Essential Mix landing in July, 23-yr old Maya Jane Coles is the rising producer/DJ on everyone’s lips. Support for her productions are as wide ranging as Skream to Scuba on the dubstep side through to Jamie Jones and Laurent Garnier on the house front. As a remixer in her own right Maya has remixed artists from MSTRKRFT through to Todd Terry and as one half of dub-electronica duo She is Danger, her credits include Massive Attack, Delphic and Gorillaz.

The second mix on the package comes from blogger’s favourite, Doorly. The Ibiza Rocks resident has been making just as many waves from Sydney to London as he has in the Balearics – most recently on a 30-date arena tour of North America supporting Rusko. Famed for his ‘Pigeon Hole This’ label and attitude; Doorly’s remix credits list to many to mention but include Prodigy, Groove Armada, Dizzee Rascal, Basement Jaxx and Sia with the likes of Fake Blood, Tiga, Shy FX and Soulwax supporting them at club.

And finally, the third remix comes from FiFi Rong. Signed to Tricky’s Brown Punk label, FiFi Rong is one of London’s freshest talents producing from Dubstep through to UK Funky.


new Tricky – Murder Weapon(preview from new album Mixed Race on 27th September)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on July 3, 2010 by dk

Domino will release new album from Tricky, Mixed Race, on 27th September (UK) and 28th September (US). Mixed Race is Tricky’s ninth studio album and his second released through Domino after Knowle West Boy two years ago. Murder Weapon will be released as the first single on 30th August.

Mixed Race was recorded in Paris, where Tricky currently lives, and is Tricky’s most direct album to date. Musically his magpie’s eye takes influence from UK, Jamaica, the US, North Africa and France.

There’s a wealth of experience distilled within as Tricky approaches twenty years of recording; yet he remains as vital as ever. He sets out his motivation early with “Every Day”, and then proceeds with narration and temptation, reflection and perception, mischief and misbehaviour.

As ever he has a wealth of singers and collaborators. Mixed Race introduces Irish-Italian Franky Riley who has toured as Tricky’s vocalist for two years and makes her recording debut here, there’s also Terry Lynn, Bobby Gillespie, Hakim Hamadouche, Blackman and Tricky’s brother, Marlon Thaws who’s the thirteenth of fourteen siblings.

Tricky says “Every album is a learning experience and this is concentrated music, there’s no dilution. I’m comfortable in my own skin now, comfortable with being in the light. I’m not just a kid from Knowle West trying to build a future, I have some experience, I can experiment, I can be honest, and honestly, musically, I can’t be touched. I used to hide in the shadows when I played live, now I perform. I used to hate doing interviews, now I feel honoured that people would be interested in what I have to say. I’ve spent my life going between cultures; Mixed Race is about that, and in a very direct way.”

Mixed Race will be available on CD (WIGCD256), LP (WIGLP256) and via digital download (WIG256D).

The album’s tracklisting is as follows:
1. Every Day
2. Kingston Logic
3. Early Bird
4. Ghetto Stars
5. Hakim
6. Come To Me
7. Murder Weapon
8. Time To Dance
9. Really Real
10. Bristol To London

Tricky will be performing at the following festivals in the UK:

-Sunday 11th July: T in the Park, Kinross (Slam Tent, 2.30pm)
-Saturday 21st August: V Festival, Hylands Park, Chelmsford (Union Arena, 7.30pm)
-Sunday 22nd August: V Festival, Weston Park, Stafford (Union Arena, 7.30pm)
-Friday 10th September: Bestival, Newport, Isle Of Wight (Big Top Stage, 10.30pm)

Domino Records