Archive for Mr Scruff

Mr. Scruff – Render Me Remixes(Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on May 29, 2014 by dk


Mr. Scruff – ‘Render Me’ Feat. Denis Jones(Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on February 28, 2014 by dk

Taken from Mr. Scruff’s new album, Friendly Bacteria, released on 19 May 2014 on Ninja Tune.


Hundred Strong & Joseph Malik – All Aint the Same

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on February 11, 2013 by dk

hnlp002 Hundred Strong & Joseph MalikRelease (digital):2013-02-11
Label:High Noon
Cat #:HNLP002

All Ain’t The Same is a collaboration between Bristol producer Ben Dubuisson, AKA Hundred Strong, and Glasgow singer/songwriter Joseph Malik. Having recorded the title track, All Ain’t The Same, for previous label Altered Vibes some seven years previously, the full length collaboration has been some time in the making. However, it was only a chance conversation early in 2012 between Dubuisson and Malik that led to an exchange of ideas and the completion of the long vaunted project.

Working from his basement studio in central Bristol, Dubuisson sent instrumental files to Malik who drew upon his years of musical and life experiences to create a soulful yet cutting sound. The process was then completed with the addition of live musicians, including Kasbian trumpeter Gary Alesbrook and long time Hundred Strong hammond player Evan Newman. Finally, Dubuisson introduced Malik to fellow Glasgow singerLouise Berry, AKA Lou Angel, who was brought in as backing singer. Through their vocal collaborations a relationship developed which resulted in them getting together outside of the studio. Is there strength in numbers? In this case the collaboration of Hundred Strong and Joseph Malik proves there is.

The single, All Ain’t The Same, was featured on Giles Peterson’s Worldwide BBC radio show several weeks running, and previous single, Dream On Delay, featuring Alison Crockett was nominated for Giles Peterson’s Worldwide end of year awards show.
Hundred Strong and Joseph Malik- “All Aint The Same”- Lp Preview

New Typesun Single ‘The PL’ (+ Behling & Simpson remix)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on January 9, 2013 by dk


Digital Release Date: 14th January 2013

’The PL’ is the new single from Bristol’s hugely talented rising star Typesun – deep, minimal, underground soul music that’s already a firm favourite with some serious soul heads. It has grabbed the attention of such luminaries as Gilles Peterson, Jazzanova, Mr Scruff, Annie Mac, Lauren Laverne, Julio Bashmore and Pete Tong and is already causing a stir across the blogs and key tastemaker sites.

Cryptic but emotive lyrics are set across an expansive instrumental that remains deceptively simple throughout, a huge part of the piece’s charm resting in it’s tension, which never quite releases. The YouTube video has received over 7,000 listens in less than a month..

File alongside Dilla, D’Angelo and Dwele – another hint of the diversity and depth of Typesun’s forthcoming debut LP ‘Work Is Love Made Visible’, due for release later this year.

The remix treatment comes from Behling & Simpson, another of the city’s hardest working production teams who have been making huge moves throughout 2012 with killer releases on the burgeoning ‘Futureboogie’ imprint.

Mr. Scruff – ‘Be The Music'(Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , on August 22, 2012 by dk

Planas – Breathtaking (D-Bridge & Von D Remix’s)+Preview

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on March 1, 2012 by dk

On March 26th 2012 Exceptional Blue records present the sublime bass music of ‘Breathtaking’, the new single by Planas AKA Toby Davies, which is adorned with the dulcet vocal tones of Ed Thomas. It precedes the release of debut album ‘The Long Game’ later this year.
‘Breathtaking’ contains enough musical mastery to ensure the leap from underground dancefloors to the wider music world. This isn’t surprising when you consider that Toby has either produced, engineered or written songs with Dionne Bromfield, Binky Griptite of The Dap Kings, Tim Hutton (The Prodigy/Groove Armada), Alex Clare (Island) and Kim Burse – Beyonce’s creative director. He also co-produced and recorded vocals for tracks on the recent L-Vis 1990 album, ‘Neon Dreams’.
Steadily building his credentials with rated releases on Ranking (which he co-owns) and Immerse records, his productions plus remixes for the likes of Foreign Beggars, Black Diamond Bay and Screaming Soul have won DJ support from Mary Anne Hobbs (BBC Radio 1, XFM), Gilles Peterson (BBC Radio 1/6 Music), Don Letts (BBC 6 Music), Ronnie Herel (BBC 1Xtra), Mr Scruff (Solid Steel), Pearson Sound (Hessle Audio), DJ Nonames (Foreign Beggars) and DJ Q (BBC 1Xtra).
The Planas mix of ‘Finest Hour’ by (Exceptional Blue labelmates) Submotion Orchestra has reached over 150,000 YouTube views.

Toby is an original member of Gentleman’s Dub Club, for whom he writes, produces and plays bass, plus he founded the renowned club night Vagabondz, which is now part of the Outlook Festival in Croatia. He also writes hip hop as Tarqwin Smythe with Ed Thomas of Gentleman’s Dub Club, and in 2009 formed producer duo Seemore Productions.

EMN:This is What You Want!D-Bridge remixes are our fav.!

Addison Groove “Beeps” (50WEAPONSCD06) (preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on January 30, 2012 by dk