Archive for Mute

Laibach – An Introduction To/Reproduction Prohibited(Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , on July 4, 2012 by dk


Alva Noto & Byetone collaborate as Diamond Version on Mute

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on June 14, 2012 by dk

Mute are delighted to announce a special collaboration with Raster-Noton: the release of Diamond Version’sTechnology At The Speed Of LifeEmpowering Change on 23 July, the first of a sequence of five 12″ EPs throughout 2012, culminating in an album in 2013.

Diamond Version is a collaborative project between two of the most groundbreaking, experimental and forward thinking creators in modern music, Byetone and Alva Noto.

As joint heads of the German-based label Raster-Noton, and with solo projects Alva Noto (Carsten Nicolai) and Byetone (Olaf Bender), they have been releasing work that spectacularly blurs the lines between the visceral and the conceptual, bridging the gap between gallery and dancefloor.

The release will be supported by audio-visual live performances with featured special guests and the premiere of Diamond Version TV, at Sónar 2012 on Saturday 16 June will feature Atsuhiro Ito.

EP & Download Tracklisting – 12DVMUTE1 / iDVMUTE1
Side 1: Technology at the Speed of Life
Side 2: Empowering Change / Empowering Change (Version)

The forthcoming Modeselektor compilation, Modeselektion Vol.2 out on Monkeytown Records will feature Diamond Versions track, Mode Operator (Beispiel A).

Raster-Noton and Mute have collaborated previously in the past with the Short Circuit Festival at the Roundhouse London in 2011 and the Raster-Noton 15th Anniversary event at Berghain, Berlin.

Diamond Version – Mission Statement

Mute announce the second EP from VCMG’s forthcoming album, remixed by Mathew Jonson and Byetone.

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on January 26, 2012 by dk

EP2 / Single Blip – from Vince Clarke and Martin L. Gore’s highly anticipated collaboration, VCMG – rears its head on 27 February 2012, with remixes from Byetone and Mathew Jonson.
A pounding motorik beat heralds the start of this minimal electronic tour de force. With primal drums and puckering bleeps, it’s an industrial battle cry of the darkest proportions, setting teeth on edge with nails-across-blackboard screeching, ominous synths and spiraling rhythms.
EP2 / Single Blip remixes come courtesy of sparce electronic artist Byetone, aka Berliner Olaf Bender, co-founder and the man responsible for the iconic design output at Raster-Noton. His 2011 album Symeta featured in Fact and The Quietus’ end of year polls, and previous remix credits inc Modeselektor and eLan.
Alongside is a remix from Mathew Jonson, co-founder of Wagon Repair label and one-third of electronic improvisers Cobblestone Jazz. Canadian born Jonson has previously remixed the likes of Plastikman, Tiga and Chemical Brothers to great acclaim.
‘SSSS’ – the debut album by VCMG – is out on 12 March 2012 and boasts ten tracks of the same Teutonic turn-ons. Written and produced by Clarke and Gore, the album was mixed by Timothy “Q” Wiles and recorded and engineered by Sie Medway Smith and Clarke.
Mastered by Stefan Betke (aka Pole), the album demonstrates Clarke and Gore’s shared love of electronic music and marks the arrival proper of this enigmatic duo who have teamed up again after thirty years.

Speaking to MOJO this month, Clarke says the collaborative process was “really about exchanging colours… like two people doing a painting in a different room,” and Gore confessed his preference for “anything that’s a bit darker…with a driving rhythm.”

artist: VCMG (Vince Clarke & Martin L Gore) | remixed by Mathew Jonson and Byetone
release:Single Blip – EP 2
date: 27th February 2012
label: Mute, UK.
cat.: mute476

Single Blip
Single Blip – Byetone remix
Single Blip – Mathew Jonson remix

VCMG (Vince Clarke & Martin L. Gore) announce details of their album ‘Ssss’ on Mute

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on January 10, 2012 by dk

VCMG release one of 2012’s most anticipated musical collaborations with the album ‘Ssss’, out on Mute on 12 March 2012.

It marks the long awaited reunion of electronic pioneers Vince Clarke (Erasure/ Yazoo/ Depeche Mode) and Martin L. Gore (Depeche Mode), who have joined forces for the first time in over thirty years to craft a 10-track album which demonstrates their mutual love of electronic music.

After initial tentative discussions, and a meeting at Short Circuit presents Mute festival in London, where they both performed, these two influential musicians and songwriters worked in a typically unique way. Clarke and Gore worked alone in their respective studios, communicating only via email and exchanging files until the album was ready. The album includes the recent 12” EP1/ Spock, described by The Quietus as “one of the best tracks of 2011”, plus the forthcoming EP 2/ Single Blip.

‘Ssss’, written and produced by Vince Clarke and Martin L. Gore, was mixed by Timothy “Q” Wiles, recorded and engineered by Sie Medway Smith and Vince Clarke and mastered by Stefan Betke (aka Pole).

Full remix details for EP2/ Single Blip, the follow up to EP1/ Spock – out now on 12” / download and featuring remixes by Edit-Select, Regis, DVS1 and XOQ – will follow.

Fusing stripped down percussion, Teutonic precision and dank, brutal walls of rhythmic noise, “highly anticipated” is not even close.” – Electronic Beats

artist: VCMG (Vince Clarke & Martin L. Gore)
album: SSSS
label: Mute, UK.
cat:. STUMM441
date: 12 MARCH 2O12


Windup Robot
Bendy Bass
Single Blip
Skip This Track

Goldfrapp – Yellow Halo(video)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on December 8, 2011 by dk

Download:Josh T. Pearson – O Holy Night

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on December 2, 2011 by dk

O Holy Night by Josh T. Pearson

An alternate version of O Holy Night appears on a special bonus CD available exclusively with the album ‘Last Of The Country Gentlemen’ at Rough Trade Shops.

Download:Josh T. Pearson – O Holy Night

‘Last Of The Country Gentlemen’ is Rough Trade’s album of the year 2011.

Download:S.C.U.M – Faith Unfolds (Deptford Goth Remix)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on November 11, 2011 by dk

Original version appears on the album Again Into Eyes. Out now on Mute.WWW.SCUM1968.COM

Download:S.C.U.M – Faith Unfolds (Deptford Goth Remix)