Archive for Radio Slave

The Wurst Music Ever

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , on September 14, 2011 by dk

The Wurst Music Co proudly presents its very first full-length release, the aptly titled The Wurst Music Ever. Boasting ten brand new songs from Wurst stalwarts and newcomers to the sausage party alike, the compilation is a bold step forward for the cult New York label. Wurst has always kept us guessing, from its early years trading in much-heralded (and sorely out of print) edits from the likes of Runaway and Lee Douglas to its rebirth in 2009 as a bastion for forward-thinking, original dance music courtesy of Brennan Green and Neurotic Drum Band, amongst others. Label head Roy Dank’s daring approach to A&R has enabled Wurst to garner support from a broad swath of discerning DJs, including heavyweights like Harvey, Carl Craig, James Murphy, Soul Clap, Radio Slave, Tim Sweeney, Laurent Garnier, and Optimo. So it should come as no surprise that the imprint delivers a spectacular set of music unrestricted by genre classification and tempo with its initial foray into long-player territory.

The Wurst Music Ever is that rare commodity in dance music, chock full of personality, and by no means mere dancefloor fodder. That being said, many of the album highlights are sure to fill floors the world over; indeed, more than a few already are. Brooklyn disco ensemble Midnight Magic have been closing their awe-inspiring live sets with their fantastic cover of Native Underground’s soul-drenched “Push 4 Love”, while Lisbon legend Tiago has been test-driving his contribution, “Peanuts Not Working”, to packed crowds at his Lux residency. Fresh off of appearances on Soul Clap’s Social Experiment 002 and Jamie Jones’ Fabric 59, New York upstarts soho808 deliver what is sure to be the pitched down house (or whatever you want to call it) anthem of the winter with “Reach”. Brooklyn house juggernaut Nick Chacona teams up with longtime partner and SF disco hero Anthony Mansfield on “Tase the Wizard”, a Burning Man anthem if there ever was one.

Elsewhere on the compilation, 20 Jazz Funk Greats faves Pink Stallone team up with Strictly Rhythm singer Joey Washington to bring the nasty funk on “Help Yourself”, while Portland performance artists The Miracles Club follow-up acclaimed releases for both Mexican Summer and Cut Copy’s Cutters imprint with, “I Can’t Help It”, a perfect marriage of ethereal pop and classic house sounds. Stockholm studs Name in Lights inimitably channel their rave roots on “Úr Öskunni”, while Chaka Khan’s nephew Great Weekend gets busy on the MPC for the sexy, sample-delic midtempo bomb, “That’s The Thing (To Do)”. Slowing things down for those special late-night/early morning moments are none other than mysterious Mark E protege Chicago Damn, and Wurst alum, not to mention one-half of Neurotic Drum Band, Ulysses, with “Romcom” and “Soular Power”, respectively.

Deftly showcasing an incredible array of talent and arguably amongst the artists’ finest moments to date, The Wurst Music Ever is a bold treatise on dance music’s wildly expansive movements, some of which the Wurst label has been lucky enough to commit to record. To commemorate the occasion, Wurst is hitting the road for album launch parties across the globe. Stay tuned, as they say, the Wurst has yet to come…

title:The Wurst Music Ever
artist:Various Artists
label:Wurst Music Co, USA.
format:CD/ 3×12”

Native Underground: Push 4 Love – Midnight Magic Cover
Pink Stallone: Help Yourself
soho808: Reach feat. Safiyah
Name In Lights: Ur Oskunni
Tiago: Peanuts Not Working – I Am The Automan Version
Miracles Club: I Can’t Help It
Nick Chacona & Anthony Mansfield: Tase The Wizard
Great Weekend: That’s The Thing (To Do)
Chicago Damn: Romcom
Ulysses: Soular Power


Soul Jazz – Riddim Box: Excursions In The UK Funky Underground on November 8th

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on October 19, 2010 by dk

Esteemed London imprint Soul Jazz Records have announced details for Riddim Box: Excursions In The UK Funky Underground, a two-disc compilation due out in November.

Many of Soul Jazz’s compilations aim to survey a local scene or musical movement, and they’ve always had a soft spot for bass music from the UK; their Box of Dub series helped chart dubstep’s ascent from 2007 on, and just last month they released Future Bass, a collection of genre-bending tunes by artists like Four Tet and Ramadanman. With Riddim Box, they turn their lens on what The Guardian has called “probably the most exciting development in UK music since garage became grime.” The compilation gives the broad strokes of funky’s history so far, showcasing anthems by genre innovators like Altered Natives, NB Funky and MJ Cole. A few cross-over tracks are included as well, such as Kode9’s “Black Sun” and Radio Slave’s remix of “Blaze n’ Cook” by Stereotyp and Al Haca.

01. Altered Natives – Rass Out
02. MJ Cole – Volcano Riddim
03. NB Funky – Riddim Box
04. Tubby T – Ready She Ready (Seiji Remix)
05. Sunship feat. Warrior Queen – Almighty Father (Solid Groove Underground Souljah Mix)
06. Zumen Feat. Leafnuts and Aaron Phiri – Rolexx
07. Hard House Banton – Sirens
08. Ghosts On Tape – Predator Mode (Roska Remix)
09. Donae’o – African Warrior (Instrumental)

01. Stereotyp Meets Al Haca – Blaze N’ Cook (Radio Slave remix)
02. Kode9 – Black Sun
03. Lil Silva – Pulse vs. Flex
04. LV Feat. Rubi Dan and Errol Bellot – Crossfire
05. Omar and Zed Bias – Dancing (Instrumental)
06. D-Malice – Gabryelle (Refix)
07. Grievous Angel – Move Down Low (Dubplate Mix)
08. DVA – Natty
09. Shystie – Pull It (Ill Blu Remix Instrumental)
10. Crazy Cousinz – Attract

Soul Jazz will release Riddim Box: Excursions In The UK Funky Underground on November 8th, 2010.

(RA report)

Download: FACT mix 140: Fiedel (MMM)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on April 12, 2010 by dk

MMM – the Berlin-based duo of Erik Wiegand and Fiedel – make unashamedly banging music, rooted in the finest traditions of techno, disco and electro. But there’s more to their tracks than mere club-quaking gusto: a kind of wildness and instability that no conventional producer would dare countenance, coupled with a surgical attention to detail that no conventional producer would even be capable of. This is music that sounds live, alive, intuitive, but also utterly disciplined and deliberate: elements are looped, tweaked and exaggerated to the point of near-abstraction; ‘Nous Sommes MMM’ doesn’t so much run along from A to B as jut out at you – we’re talking about electronic dance music that’s truly three-dimensional.



Download: FACT mix 140: Fiedel (MMM)
(Available for seven days)


01. Shake. Stereotype. Frictional 008
02. Skream. Minimalistix. Nonplus 004
03. Greena. Actual Pain. Apple Pips 010
04. Shortstuff & Hyetal. Don’t Sleep. Punchdrunk 015
05. MMM. Unreleased (Live Version). MMM 5
06. Roska. Holograph. Fantastic Four 001
07. Martyn. Suburbia. Apple Pips 001
08. Radio Slave. Neverending. Ostgut-Ton 022
09. Equalized – A. Equalized 003
10. D-Malice. Refix EP – Gabryelle Refix 001
11. MMM. Nous Sommes MMM. MMM 4
12. Rejected. Peanuts. Figure 020
13. Outlaw Breaks. Dutty – Dub Mix. Left Records 008
14. Jona. Secret 47. Planet E 65297