Archive for Ryan Crosson

Fabric61: Visionquest

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on November 4, 2011 by J.D.

Visionquest are a dynamic, charismatic and unstoppable force that have quietly crept up and grasped the horns of dance music in 2011. Comprising of Seth Troxler, Lee Curtiss, Ryan Crosson and Shaun Reeves, four Detroit refugees who each have their solo careers in their own right, together they career through barren terrain and mystical energies in the next episode of the fabric series.

“Shaun, Ryan and Seth are from the Detroit area. They finished high school at a point in time when electronic music was making a turning point. We were all deeply involved in it.” Lee Curtiss

I grew up with a lot of different music – jazz, rnb, soul, house. My parents have such good taste.  However when I got into my teen years living in the suburbs I started to listen to a lot of indie rock as well as techno. Still today when I’m home alone I tend to listen to more folk stuff rather then club music.” Seth Troxler

“Chance meetings and like-mindedness brought Visionquest together. If I could sum us up in 3 words it would be ‘never forget home’ or ‘use more fat’”. Ryan Crosson


Label: Fabric
Cat no: fabric121
Released: Monday December 5th, 2011


  1. Tin Man – Wasteland [Global A]
  2. STL – Portside Waves [Perlon]
  3. Soul Center* – Hal 2010 [Shitkatapult]
  4. Seuil – In The Moon [Supplement Facts]
  5. Konrad Black – Doodimbouttogay [Visionquest]
  6. Cassius – The Sound Of Violence (Franco Cinelli Remix) [Cassius]
  7. Terje Bakke – Ekaterinburg [Be Chosen]
  8. Kollektiv Turmstrasse & Florian Schirmacher – Uneins (Aril Brikha Remix) [Connaisseur Superieur]
  9. Catz ‘n Dogz feat. Paul Randolph – I’m Free (Carl Craig Remix) [Mothership]
  10. Phreek Plus One feat. Mr. White – Passion (DJ T. Remix) [Compost]
  11. Loosefingers – Winterflower [Alleviated]
  12. My Favorite Robot – Forest Fires [Visionquest]
  13. DVS1 – Polyphonic Love [Transmat]
  14. Green Velvet – Abduction [Relief]
  15. Aquarius Heaven feat. Dani Siciliano – Can’t Buy Love [Wolf + Lamb]
  16. Tale Of Us & Footprintz – Tale/Foot Break [Visionquest]
  17. Footprintz – Heaven Felt Like Night [Visionquest]
  18. Wildcookie – Song With No Ending [Tru Thoughts]

In Native American cultures, a Visionquest is a spiritual quest associated with new beginnings and revelatory journeys. Meeting as teenagers in the collapsed city of Detroit, these four young creatives embarked on their own voyage together that has brought them to the forefront of the electronic music community. Surrounded by the explosion of techno in their home city, they each connected deeply with its heartbeat. The youngest of the pack, Seth Troxler’s stepfather was himself a DJ and they each began playing and promoting local events. Keen to etch their own mark as DJs and producers in the wider world, they eloped to Berlin and forged successful solo careers, before coming together again to form the Visionquest production collective responsible for crossover remixes such as Tracey Thorn ‘Swimming’ and Kiki ‘Good Voodoo’. In 2011 they formed the Visionquest label that houses a rising circle of talent such as Footprintz, Laura Jones, Tale Of Us and the biggest track of the year from Benoit & Sergio ‘Walk and Talk’.

“When deciding together which tracks we wanted to go with we took into consideration the timelessness of the songs, tracks from our past and our present and presented them to tell our story. The start is very representative of the Visionquest DJ sound and the end shows the eclectic sound of our label. It goes from music for clubs to music for life.”Shaun Reeves

The meditative ‘Wasteland’ from Tin Man commences this almost supernatural journey, urging you to relax and sit back for the ride. Throughout the subsequent seventy minutes, Visionquest sweep gently from light atmospherics through into warm grooves and hypnotic basslines, embodying a spellbinding sound that seems suspended in time. The close circle from their early days such as Konrad Black and Toronto’s My Favorite Robot are represented in the mix as well as early heroes such as Green Velvet and Carl Craig. Iconic records such as the Cassius ‘The Sound Of Violence’ and this year’s anthemic Aquarius Heaven ‘Can’t Buy Love’ are sandwiched between esoteric jewels. The end spirals deeper into Visionquest’s dreams and pop infused hallucinations as the auras of the young Montreal duo Footprintz merge with Italian duo Tale Of Us. The playful close on Wildcookie’s ‘The Song With No Ending’ is an archetypal Visionquest twist as they bow out in style.

Watergate 08-Lee Curtiss

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 10, 2011 by J.D.

Only 9 years after its official opening, Watergate has become one of the world’s most prominent underground electronic music institutions. In no small part due to its picturesque location running directly alongside the river Spree, its wall to wall LED dance floor installa- tion and most of all, its consistent flow of first-rate international talent performing every week.

Watergate’s presence and influence has spawned many side projects including a boutique- style Mix CD series now in its 8th volume. A who’s who of the club’s regular talent and resident artists such as Sascha Funke, Sebo K, dOP, Ellen Allien and others have all contributed to the aesthetically pleasing series, now regarded as collector’s items.

For the eight installment in our mix series, we bridge the gap between two global capitals of techno: Berlin, and Detroit, home of Lee Curtiss who delivers a forward-thinking mix, inspired by time spent living in both cities. Lee is one of a new generation of techno visionar- ies from the Motor City, that includes his Visionquest collaborators Ryan Crosson, Shaun Reeves and Seth Troxler, who are putting their own unique spin on their city’s most famous underground musical export. Based between Detroit and Berlin for the last four years, Lee has a fundamental grasp of what makes both dancefloors at Watergate tick, and this enduring love and understanding of the space clearly shines through in his mix. Building on the raw soul and funk of those who have blazed a trail before him, on both sides of the Atlantic, Lee brings his own subtle melodies and keen sense of dramatic tension to the fore in a mix that encompasses all that is vibrant and exciting about underground techno in 2011.

Artist: Lee Curtiss
Title: Watergate 08
Release Date: 04-Jul-2011
Record Label: Watergate
01. Lee Curtiss – Drivin’ / Jazzler aka Dixie Yure – Beth & The Gamma Ray’s Fields – Flumo
02. No Regular Play – Walking (Next To Me) (Shaun Reeves Remix) – No.19 Music
03. Maceo Plex – Fallin’ (live cut) – Visionquest
04. Footprintz – The Things That Last Forever (Lee Curtiss Feets Up Edit) – Visionquest
05. Guy Gerber – Hate Love (Maayan Nidam Remix) – Supplemental Facts
06. Maceo Plex – Your Style – Crosstown Rebels
07. dOP – After Party (Le Loup Remix) – Life And Death
08. Footprintz – The Favorite Game (Lee Curtiss Feets Still Up Edit) – Visionquest
09. Alex Smoke – Make My Day (Ryan Crosson Morning Sorrow Remix) – Soma
10. dOP – Your Sex – Supplemental Facts
11. Whomadewho – Every Minute Alone (Tale Of Us Remix) – Life And Death
12. James Teej – Daytime Ringer – Supernature
13. Hot Natured feat. Ali Love – Forward Motion – Hot Creations
14. Kim Ann Foxman – What You Need – Mr.INTL Records