Archive for Sky

Audion returns with new single, ‘Motormouth'(Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on November 7, 2013 by dk

Audion - Motormouth
Matthew Dear’s dark alter ego Audion first stormed the electronic-music scene in 2004, unveiling a trilogy of pulverizing singles that would ultimately re-align today’s techno sound. In 2006, Audion followed the series with the breakthrough club anthem “Mouth To Mouth,” a constantly ascending work of art that has captured the imagination of DJs and fans in all club genres worldwide. In 2009, Audion re-emerged with a load of new boundary-pushing material and a hypnotic, highly detailed live show which were powerful experiments in chaos and hypnotic depth, tearing down the walls of the live electronic-music experience.

Audion’s four-year silence now comes to an end with “Motormouth”

“Motormouth” is also one of two new tracks on the upcoming career-spanning Audion retrospective called Audion X, set for release December 10th on Spectral Sound. After nearly a decade in which Matthew Dear has exorcised his dancefloor demons through sometimes heavy, occasionally dirty, always ecstatic techno—a collection like this is not only deserved, it’s welcome. Audion X culls only the best tracks from Audion’s singularly reckless mind: the swarm-of-bees climax of the DEMF-defining “Mouth to Mouth” and the stair-step hook of “Look at the Moon”; the serrated mayhem of 2004’s “Kisses” and 2005’s Suckfish full-length, the mischievous sensuality of 2009’s singles series.

And with a new Audion full-length (and accompanying A/V tour) on the horizon in 2014, Audion X wouldn’t be complete without a glimpse into the future: the relentless new singles “Motormouth” and “Sky”.

Solid State Drive – Sub Symphony

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on June 19, 2013 by dk

Solid State Drive - Sub SymphonySolid State Drive, AKA Kev Curtis, is no stranger to the limelight. Composing his first documentary score for the BBC in 1996, Kev went on to enjoy an illustrious career in the world of sync (music to picture). Having written music for programs on; Channel 4, Sky, ITV, Channel Five and The Discovery Channel, Kev has established himself as a go to music producer, for many high powered TV Executives. This has led to the programmes that he has written music for, winning BAFTAs and RTS awards.

When Kev is not busy soundtracking our TV viewing, he endulges in his passion for Leftfield Electronica. The music of Solid State Drive is a perfectly blended fusion of the Orchestral and the Electronic, with Rock influences. Of course being a highly talented multi-instrumentalist always helps in these matters, allowing Kev to record a variety of the live parts of this album himself. Joining the party is also a careful selection of talented musicians. The level of musicianship here is high.

Now on it’s third release, Dusted Down was formed as a subsidary label of successful Breaks label Dusted Breaks. Having won the award for Best New Label in 2009, at the Breakspoll Awards, the guys at Dusted Breaks have worked with the crème de la crème of the Breaks world ever since. Now, label manager Lee Martin is embarking on a venture into the world of Leftfield Electronica with Dusted Down.

Sub Symphony delivers a relaxing, yet diverse ride for the listener. The album varies from more Downtempo, Ambient Electronica, to more driving tracks, with pulsating 909 Kicks and harder edged synth lines. Melody and harmony are a plenty throughout the album and there is no doubt that there is a level of musicianship here, that most Electronic albums don’t reach. Tracks naturally progress, maintaining the listener’s interest, whilst varying in mood, from uplifting, to moody, to calming. This makes for a well rounded album, professionally executed by talented musicians.

Tokyo Dawn pres.SoulParlor – Evoluzion ,June 3rd(preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 10, 2011 by dk

Welcome to SoulParlor! As protagonists of the international broken beat scene for more than 15 years, this German-based production and DJ collective intends on seriously effecting your minds and bodies with their sonic fusion of bass culture, house vibes and hip hop grooves.

After two dozen single releases, club residencies all over Europe, music scores for Mercedes-Benz and MTV, successful remixes for James Brown, Juan Aktins and so much more, it’s high time for their new album to drop.

“Evoluzion” is backwards for “Noiz U Love” and reflects the musical range of their incredibly eclectic DJ sets. Conceptualized as a truly collaborative album, all 19 tracks feature SoulParlor’s music partners over the years, who for the most part came to their home studio in Mainz (Germany) to create in the flesh. Guest vocalists featured include Cecilia Stalin (Koop), Jacob And The Appleblossom (Wagner Love), Colonel Red, Oddisee, Replife, Stan Smith and others. Bonus remixes are delivered from longtime collaborators from West London and beyond including legends of the underground such as Afronaut, Daz-I-Kue (Bugz In The Attic), Dego (4hero/2000black), MdCL, Pure P (Raw Fusion), Souled and Tokyo Dawn’s funk maestro Opolopo. This evoluzion just started!

Release date: June 3rd 2011
Label code: TDR11-003
Distribution Digital / CD worldwide
Release page 
Production: Frank Jensen, Frank Lotz, Tobias Müller
Vocals:Caits Meissner, Cecilia Stalin, Colonel Red, Jacob And The Appleblossom, Melo, Oddisee, Raziel Jamaerah, Replife, Sky, Stan Smith, Yannah Valdevit
Remix artists: Afronaut, Daz-I-Kue, Dego, MdCL, Opolopo, Pure P, Souled 
SoulParlor – Nothing Ever Changes feat. Jacob & The Appleblossom

Hot and Fresh Summer Groove from Tokyo Dawn Records