Archive for Urban

Al Lindrum Presents: Ojos De Brujo Reworked(preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on June 28, 2012 by dk

UrbanWorld Records and Al Lindrum proudly present Ojos De Brujo Reworked, a remix compilation of the music of Grammy award-winning, Spanish flamenco-fusion group, Ojos De Brujo.

Throughout the past ten years, Ojos De Brujo have represented the freshest fusion of flamenco and urban music. By staying true to their Catalan roots, they have successfully merged past and present to create a unique sound. Al Lindrum has delved into their amazing back-catalogue to pick some of Ojos De Brujo’s best works; Ventilaor R-80 (Bari, 2002), Sultanas de Merkadillo (Techari, 2006), Todo Tiende (Techari, 2006), Una Verdad Incómoda (Aocana, 2009) and Nueva Vida (Aocana, 2009).

UrbanWorld Records and Al Lindrum have spent over a year working on this project. Al who has Danish roots, but has lived more than half of his life in the Catalan capital, is a friend of both Ojos and UrbanWorld, thus combining them on this compilation was a very natural process. Al Lindrum is a well known DJ on the global bass scene and has produced a number of projects. He features on this release as Al Lindrum with a mellow drum & bass remix that tastes exotic and spicy, but still sweet. And he also appears as LoveAvalanche, with a powerful remix ripping it up in adubstep/ragga style with a breakdown that will get dance floors jumping.

13 remixes from top producers take Ojos De Brujo from dubstep and drum & bass, over cumbia and dancehall, to house stompers and funky breaks, incorporating the unique freshness and global bass sound that has put UrbanWorld Records on the international scene. Junkyard Productions, Makala, Copia Doble Systema, Los Chicos Altos, DJ Farrapo, George Vala & Audioprophecy, Thykier & Dubpiraten, Suonho, Duboffensive, Tony Seal, and Empresarios all add their own unique slant to an already highly impressive back-catalogue.


01. Una Verdad Incomoda (Junkyard Productions Remix)
02. Ventilator R-80 (Makala Remix)
03. Nueva Vida (Al Lindrum Remix)
04. Ventilator R-80 (Copia Doble Systema Cumbiaton Remix)
05. Todo Tiendo (Los Chicos Altos Remix)
06. Sultanas De Merkadillo (DJ Farrapo Remix)
07. Todo Tiendo (George Vala & Audioprophecy Remix)
08. Una Verdad Incomoda (LoveAvalanche Remix)
09. Sultanas De Merkadillo (Thykier & Dubpirate Remix)
10. Ventilator R-80 (Suonho Broken Rhumba Remix)
11. Una Verdad Incomoda (Duboffensive Remix)
12. Nueva Vida (Tony Seal Remix)
13. Ventilator R-80 (Empresarios Remix)


Funkyloco – So Sweet EP (So Sound Recordings, SSR049) (Preview Clips)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , on November 4, 2011 by dk

So Sound Recordings and Funkyloco join forces once again for the majestic new ‘So Sweet EP’. Label partner Pablo ‘Funkyloco‘ Varela delivers some of his hottest tracks to date on the label, from down tempo moods all the way through the house spectrum.  Previous outings have received support from the some of the most established names in the industry.

The EP serves up four tracks, from the sensual tropical warmth of‘So Sweet Baby’ and ‘Samba Jazz’ to the trippy fairy tale of psychedelic utopia rounding on ‘Wonderful Place’; a track that has drawn comparisons to Marshall Jefferson’s iconic ‘Mushrooms’.  Working as A&R at So Sound, Funkyloco has also been responsible for spotting some of So Sound’s greatest new talent, includingToomy Disco and Les Loups.

This EP also includes a stellar remix of ‘So Sweet Baby’ by the resurgent house music legend DJ Ra Soul, who recently hit back hard with a big release on So Sound.  The ‘Take It Slow’ EP gathered praise from a wide range of DJs including James Zabiela, Justin Martin and Fred Everything and marked the great man’s return to the scene.

Artist: Funkyloco
Title: So Sweet EP
Remixers: DJ Ra Soul
Label: So Sound Recordings
Release date: 02-12-11

1: So Sweet Baby
2: So Sweet Baby (DJ Ra Soul Remix)
3: Samba Jazz
4: Wonderful Place