Download: Shackleton -Electronic Explorations 133


Download: Shackleton -Electronic Explorations 133

01) – Shackleton and Vengeance Tenfold – Stripped III (version)
02) – Shackleton – Man On A String Part 1 and 2
03) – Shackleton – Angel On A String
04) – Shackleton – Fireworks
05) – Shackleton – Deadman
06) – Shackleton – Bottles
07) – Shackleton – Hypno Angel
08) – Shackleton – Something Has Got To Give
09) – Shackleton – Massacre
10) – Shackleton – Torn Skin III (version)

The self-effacing Lancashire-born Sam Shackleton first came to prominence during the early rise of the dubstep scene, running the label Skull Disco alongside Appleblim. Skull Disco is considered to have been quite influential, in that it combined more abstract or avant musical forms with music that could work on advanced dancefloors. It was home to Shackleton’s cuts such as ‘Stalker’, ‘Death Is Not Final’ and ‘Blood On My Hands’, reworked by Ricardo Villalobos into an 18 minute four to the floor version. Most recently he released 3 EPs on Perlon, a Berlin label renowned for its low key approach to high creativity. From dubstep to techno, Shackleton’s maverick take on big basslines and complex beats doesn’t fit into any easy categories and that’s how it’s going to stay. Shackleton’s records and live sets are thrilling and unique in their absorbing complexity and pure dancefloor enchantment.

“I got into making music on a computer by default.  My previous partner in music went to the other side of the world and converted to Islam, and I didn’t want to be a one-man karaoke outfit so I bought a computer.  This turned out to be a good thing for me as it made it easier to make the music that I wanted to make. Mine and my friend’s lives had a diverse soundtrack, but I remember that Stooges, Can, Throbbing Gristle, Kraftwerk and Faust were all favourites.  To be honest, I haven’t really moved on from that stuff. I started playing guitar in a punk band at 14.  We were not very good and got booed off stage and things thrown at us.  Plus ça change, really!”

http://electronicexplorations.org

Leave a comment