Archive for June, 2014

Moby – The Only Thing (from The Third Person)(Video)

Posted in News with tags , , on June 28, 2014 by J.D.

Bobby Womack, Legendary Soul Singer, Dead at 70

Posted in News with tags , , , on June 28, 2014 by J.D.

bobby-womack-1976-amsterdam-billboard-650Rock and Roll Hall of Fame soul singer Bobby Womack, whose music was covered by, among others, the Rolling Stones, died Friday at age 70.

A representative for Womack’s label XL Recordings confirmed the news of his passing this morning to The Hollywood Reporter. He was suffering from colon cancer and diabetes at the time of his death.(billboard report)

Oliver Heldens X Becky Hill – Gecko (Overdrive) [Official Video]

Posted in News with tags , , , , , on June 27, 2014 by J.D.

10528-becky_hill_2014_420x25019 year-old Dutch house producer, Oliver Heldens, has teamed up with The Voice 2012 semi-finalist, Becky Hill, for dance anthem Gecko (Overdrive), which is currently on track to debut at Number 1 on Sunday with a lead of nearly 12,000 copies at this midway stage.
While Oliver Heldens is a relative newcomer to the UK charts, Becky Hill has previously worked with chart favourites Rudimental, as well featuring on Wilkinson’s Top 10 hit, Afterglow.(via officialcharts)

Mono/Poly – Ra Rise (Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on June 27, 2014 by J.D.

Mono Poly
From the forthcoming album “Golden Skies”
Available 08/25/14 in all formats on Brainfeeder.

Download:G R I M E S -Go ft. Blood Diamonds

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on June 27, 2014 by J.D.


Clap! Clap! Returns to Black Acre to Deliver His Debut LP, Stream a Track Now

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on June 26, 2014 by J.D.

Clap! Clap!After storming the gates with his warmly received Tambacounda EP, Clap! Clap! returns to Black Acre to deliver is debut long player.

Tayi Bebba is a highly conceptual work that manages to balance a highly cerebral concept with making some good old fashioned bangers. Tayi Bebba is an album tour of an imagined island each song representing a location, event or ritual. Sonically it’s a fast moving charge across the soundscape fusing field recordings and found sound with incredibly surgical drum programming. Flavours of house, Footwork and Hip Hop punctuate your migration with a very specific sound palate giving this amazing work a cohesive feel.

Artist Clap! Clap!
Title Tayi Bebba
Label Black Acre
Release Date 08-Sept-2014
Format Vinyl, CD & Digital

1. The Holy Cave
2. Ashiko
3. The Rainstick Fable
4. Kwasi The Sorcerer
5. Black Smokes, Bad Signs
6. Conqueror (action / assault / conquest)
7. Conqueror (consequences / memories)
8. Conqueror (remorse / withdrawn)
9. Burbuka
10. Sahkii (Xirhuu)
11. Sahkii’s Elevation feat. DJ Khalab
12. Kwasi’s Storm (kyanumj) (tape dub)
13. Universal Modulator (kujhmak)
14. Sahkii’s Knowledge
15. Universal Modulator (ujmubuam)
16. Sailing In The Seas of Wood
17. Kuj Yato

The LP comes with full island map and in depth story behind each track.

Rustie Announces New Album ‘Green Language’ (Out Aug 26), US Tour Dates+Raptor(Stream )

Posted in News with tags , , on June 26, 2014 by J.D.

Rustie Announces New Album 'Green Language' (Out Aug 26), US Tour DatesRustie returns this summer with second album Green Language, a follow-up to his 2011 highly lauded debut album Glass Swords.

This record is more personal and mature in nature, marked by Rustie’s transition from London back to his hometown of Glasgow, and choosing to only work with those that he has a personal and musical connection to including friend Danny Brown, Numbers cohort Redinho, and UK grime MC legend D Double E. Green Language reflects his early love of shoegaze, grime, trance and Dirty South hip-hop, and despite these wide-ranging reference points, Rustie is of one mind when it comes to explaining what he’s trying to express with his beats. He wants to reflect the euphoria he felt during raves he attended as a teen, and the joy he gets from making music. And he’d like his music to be personal to others that listen to it, too. It is his ability to exude emotional depth from in-your-face beats that is the core of his music, and belies his quiet, shy nature in person. “A big part of music for me is to say things that you can’t say with words,” he admits.

Green Language Tracklist:
01. Workship
02. A Glimpse
03. Raptor
04. Paradise Stone
05. Up Down ft. D Double E
06. Attak ft. Danny Brown
07. Tempest
08. He Hate Me ft. Gorgeous Children
09. Velcro
10. Lost ft. Redinho
11. Dream On
12. Lets Spiral
13. Green Language

US Tour Dates
Weds July 23 @ The Dolphin Tavern – Philadelphia, PA
Thurs July 24 @ Terminal West (King Plow Art Center) – Atlanta, GA
Fri July 25 @ Webster Hall – New York, NY
Sat July 26 @ Le Belmont – Montreal, QC
Wed July 30 @ U Street Music Hall – Washington, DC
Thurs July 31 @ The Independent – San Francisco, CA
Fri Aug 1 @ The 1up-Colfax – Denver, CO
Sat Aug 2 @ Hard Fest – South El Monte, CA

Chancha Via Circuito ft. Miriam García – Coplita [Official Video]

Posted in News with tags , , , , on June 26, 2014 by J.D.

Santigold – “Kicking Down Doors” (from Pepsi’s Beats of the Beautiful Game LP)

Posted in News with tags , , , on June 26, 2014 by J.D.

Goldfrapp – Stranger (Official Video)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , on June 26, 2014 by J.D.

Goldfrapp have unveiled the latest video from the Tales Of Us Deluxe Edition, released digitally on 30 June 2014. Watch the murderous video for Stranger, featuring Laura Donnelly and Alison Goldfrapp