Archive for July, 2011

Download:Imagination & Missy Elliot – gotta keep workin’ it (greg wilson mash-up)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , on July 31, 2011 by dk

In March 2004 I appeared at the Time Machine night in Nottingham, which was held at The Social. I was still very much finding my feet, having only started up again a few months beforehand, and this was one of my first handful of bookings following my comeback. It was a night run by Soul Mekanik (Kelvin Andrews and Danny Spencer), who, together with Daniel Donnachie, were the resident DJ’s.

Daniel put me up that night, and we sat up into the early hours listening to records, a few of which he was kind enough to record to CD for me. One of these was the instrumental of a PM Dawn track called ‘Gotta Be…Movin’ On Up’, which was built around the unmistakeable killer groove of ‘Just An Illusion’ by Imagination.

I can’t recall if it was a few weeks, or a few months later, but I remember driving to collect my son from Primary School listening to the CD that Daniel had done for me – I can see exactly where I was, approaching the traffic lights, about to turn right onto Queens Drive in Liverpool, where the school was, when in my minds ear I could hear Missy Elliot’s ‘Work It’ rap fitting hand in glove on top of that groove.

When I got back home I tried it out and, just as I’d envisaged, it was a perfect marriage, so I began to glue it all together. I utilized Jay-Z’s ‘Reasonable Doubt’ during the intro and the break, whilst slipping in Missy Elliot’s rap section from Tweet’s ‘Oops (Oh My)’ between the parts I’d used from ‘Work It’. A sprinkle of Sinnamon, and some suitably sensual sighs and moans further peppered up proceedings, whilst Marvin Gaye’s ‘Sexual Healing’ puts in a brief cameo via the line ‘oh baby now let’s get down tonight’ and a few ‘ooohs’.

The resulting mash-up became something of a signature track for me, especially big with the girls, and was twice pressed on ‘DJ only’ 12” – in 2006, then again in 2008. I still get asked for it now, and played it most recently over in Croatia at the Garden Festival.

I originally listed the artist name as Dawn Elliot & Co, and it was later pressed on limited vinyl as Young Dog Alien (this is how it appears in the tracklisting of my Radio 1 Essential Mix from 2009), however, here I’ve settled on its most recognisable elements, Imagination & Missy Elliot.

I later put together a further version that features the vocal of ‘Just An Illusion’ before Missy’s rap kicks in. It was available here for a period last year – I’ll re-upload at some point.

Greg Wilson July 2011

Download:Imagination & Missy Elliot – gotta keep workin’ it (greg wilson mash-up)

Sepalcure-Love Pressure Remixed by Falty DL, XI, Jimmy Edgar, Daedelus & Lando Kal(Preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on July 31, 2011 by dk

More info HERE

Lunice – Guardian (download)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on July 31, 2011 by dk

Lunice’s sophomore release ONE HUNNED on LuckyMe Records, out worldwide on August 16th, Digital and Vinyl.

Lunice – Guardian (download)

Komputer – Valentina (Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , on July 31, 2011 by dk

taken from the album Konnecting… I Start Counting / Fortran 5 / Komputer

“Trillwave 2” by The Hood Internet Out Now! FREE DOWNLOAD

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on July 31, 2011 by dk

Chicago duo, The Hood Internet, is back with their latest genre-defying mash-up mix, Trillwave 2. Combining emcees such as Lupe Fiasco, Raekwon, and Lil’ B, with the likes of Com Truise, Cults, and Toro Y Moi, this mix is perfect for those end-of-summer barbecues and erupting-hydrant parties. The mix is drenched with summer time fun, ripping your favorite emcees away from their traditional hip hop backgrounds and throwing ’em in the pool with some iced tea and some indie rock and chillwave.

If you’re still not up on Hood Internet yet, the guys responsible for “The Best Mash-Ups This Side of the Web,” check them out in our Bloglin profile piece. ABX and STV SLV, the duo behind The Hood, have been killing it for the last few years using digital alchemy to blend today’s hottest hip hop, rap, indie, and R&B. And Trillwave 2 is no exception; this mix slaps.

download The Hood Internet – Trillwave 2

The Hood Internet – Trillwave 2
1. Lil Wayne x Rick Ross x Com Truise – Slow John
2. Sean Kingston x Nicki Minaj x Stewrat – Dutty Disagreements
3. R. Kelly x Wisin & Yandel x Baths – Maximal Burns
4. Raekwon x Method Man x Ghostface Killah x Twin Sister – Wu Daydream
5. Drake x Rick Ross x Holy Other x Supreme Cuts – Touch One
6. Das Racist x Cults – Go Hahahaha
7. Lupe Fiasco x Handsome Furs – The People Serve On
8. Young Chris x Bibio – Anything Philly
9. Lil B x Gold Panda – Real You
10. Fabolous x Washed Out – Eyes Be Killin Em
11. John Blu x Gonzales – Theme From Yo Booty
12. YG x Millionyoung – Sentimental Boot
13. Drake x Grum – Someday We’ll Find Your Love
14. Nicki Minaj x Hercules And Love Affair – Moment 4 Leonora
15. The Cataracs x The Pack x Boards Of Canada – Blueberry Cycling
16. Big Sean x Chris Brown x Man Man – Last Knuckle
17. Raekwon x Ghostface Killah x Destroyer – Kaputting It Up
18. Arcade Fire x Blondie – Sprawl Of Glass
19. Eric B & Rakim x Clark – Don’t Sweat The Tednique
20. Warren G x Nate Dogg x Toro Y Moi – Still Regulating
21. Dom x Gucci Mane x Usher – Stranger In America
22. Empire Of The Sun x Wild Nothing – Walking In Chinatown
23. Felt (Slug & Murs) x Caribou – Sun Chewed Up
24. M.I.A. x Sufjan Stevens – I XXXOed
25. Broken Social Scene x Twista x The Legendary Traxster – All Wetter

Geste -Howard B. EP

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on July 16, 2011 by dk

Geste released the Howard B. EP : a 12″ inches, 2 tracks, one-sided vinyl. It’s only available as a physical EP at the moment HERE, limited to 200 copies
Digital release early fall 2011.

Gogol Bordello – Immigraniada (Bassnectar Remix)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , on July 15, 2011 by dk

A sample of Bassnectar’s forthcoming album, Divergent Spectrum, out August 2nd, 2011. This track is available for free download at