Archive for Preview

Rustie Shares New Single With Danny Brown “Attak” Album Out Aug 26

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on July 24, 2014 by J.D.

Rustie Single “Attak” Featuring Danny BrownNew Rustie Single “Attak” Featuring Danny Brown
Green Language Out August 26
Currently On Tour In The US

Rustie’s sophomore full length Green Language sees its release next month on August 26. Until then, he is sharing another track from the record titled “Attak” which marries his trademark ear for beat, melody and punch with a frenzied vocal from Detroit rapper Danny Brown. Their collaboration efforts were first heard on Brown’s 2013 LP Old on which Rustie produced several tracks.

Nearly three years ago Rustie released his game changing debut record Glass Swords pushing to the forefront the “maximalist” sound in electronic music while helping to put Glasgow on the map as one of the centers of forward thinking electronic music. Green Language is him continuing to push what people expect.

Green Language rustie
Green Language Tracklist:
01. Workship
02. A Glimpse
03. Raptor
04. Paradise Stone
05. Up Down ft. D Double E
06. Attak ft. Danny Brown
07. Tempest
08. He Hate Me ft. Gorgeous Children
09. Velcro
10. Lost ft. Redinho
11. Dream On
12. Lets Spiral
13. Green Language

North American Tour Dates
Thurs July 24 @ Terminal West (King Plow Art Center) – Atlanta, GA
Fri July 25 @ Webster Hall – New York, NY
Sat July 26 @ Le Belmont – Montreal, QC
Wed July 30 @ U Street Music Hall – Washington, DC
Thurs July 31 @ The Independent – San Francisco, CA
Fri Aug 1 @ The 1up-Colfax – Denver, CO
Sat Aug 2 @ Hard Fest – South El Monte, CA

Jalilah’s Raks Sharki Oriental Dance Series is Back with Stagecuts

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on July 5, 2014 by J.D.

final_promo_yusuf.inddThe best of the pioneering Jalilah‘s Raks Sharki oriental dance series in 16 stage cuts for a new generation of dancers and performance spaces, selected by Jalilah herself. Traditional songs – edited and remastered – are presented in 16 crunchy shortened tracks, selected from six previous albums. A current development shows that Stage Cuts has its finger on the pulse of the times – the facts speak for themselves: In earlier times the typical length for a dance performance on festivals was between 10 to 20 minutes – nowadays the time limit is usually under five minutes.

Taken from Mokhtar Al-Said‘s “El Ferqa Al Mesaya” Orchestra, to Hossam Shaker and his Ensemble, to the magical melodies and rhythms of Ihsan Al-Mounizer, this record fulfills the highest artistic demands, mirroring Jalilah’s attachment to her idols:

”Stage Cuts is a tribute to the great names in Oriental Dance history − to all these musicians, composers and most of all to the per formers who love and cherish this beautiful dance form!“, so Jalilah states her intention for the new release. But also lovers of Oriental Dance music will find what their hearts desire, bridging tradition and modernity

Clap! Clap! Returns to Black Acre to Deliver His Debut LP, Stream a Track Now

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , on June 26, 2014 by J.D.

Clap! Clap!After storming the gates with his warmly received Tambacounda EP, Clap! Clap! returns to Black Acre to deliver is debut long player.

Tayi Bebba is a highly conceptual work that manages to balance a highly cerebral concept with making some good old fashioned bangers. Tayi Bebba is an album tour of an imagined island each song representing a location, event or ritual. Sonically it’s a fast moving charge across the soundscape fusing field recordings and found sound with incredibly surgical drum programming. Flavours of house, Footwork and Hip Hop punctuate your migration with a very specific sound palate giving this amazing work a cohesive feel.

Artist Clap! Clap!
Title Tayi Bebba
Label Black Acre
Release Date 08-Sept-2014
Format Vinyl, CD & Digital

1. The Holy Cave
2. Ashiko
3. The Rainstick Fable
4. Kwasi The Sorcerer
5. Black Smokes, Bad Signs
6. Conqueror (action / assault / conquest)
7. Conqueror (consequences / memories)
8. Conqueror (remorse / withdrawn)
9. Burbuka
10. Sahkii (Xirhuu)
11. Sahkii’s Elevation feat. DJ Khalab
12. Kwasi’s Storm (kyanumj) (tape dub)
13. Universal Modulator (kujhmak)
14. Sahkii’s Knowledge
15. Universal Modulator (ujmubuam)
16. Sailing In The Seas of Wood
17. Kuj Yato

The LP comes with full island map and in depth story behind each track.

Redlight – Cure Me (Preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on June 16, 2014 by J.D.

Plastikman – EX (Preview)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on June 6, 2014 by J.D.

Plastikman - EX
Plastikman, aka Richie Hawtin, recorded EX at the Guggenheim, New York’s iconic art museum. This very special performance was at the invitation of influential Belgium fashion designer and artistic director at Dior, Raf Simons, for the Guggenheim’s annual fundraiser, performed around a specially constructed LED obelisk.

Richie Hawtin explains, “I knew that Raf was a long time Plastikman fan so by accepting his offer to perform at the Dior event at the Guggenheim I knew I’d set myself up to a huge challenge. Although Raf was happy to have the already complete Plastikman Live 1.5 show, I locked myself away in a series of intense studio sessions and quickly recorded enough new material for the performance and realized I might also have enough for a complete new album. The music came out of me effortlessly as I was very inspired by the opportunity to play in this beautiful architectural space renowned more for art than music. The location also allowed me to step far away from the dancefloor, giving me a huge amount of freedom to EXplore any sonic ideas that I had. Art, music, architecture, painting, sculpture – these mediums are supposed to live together.



Psycho & Plastic – Gold/Rush(Stream)

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , , on May 28, 2014 by J.D.

Psycho & Plastic - Gold RushGold/Rush (GiveUsYourGOLD, May 30th 2014), Psycho & Plastic’s second double-A-sided single continues their journey of psychedelic electronica through the year 2014. Compared to their previous outing Jello/Sugar (GOLD002), the Berlin based duo crank up the pitch a notch and transport us deep into their idiosyncratic universe of sounds.
“Gold” sees us bouncing right along the edge of spontaneous combustion. We surf on synthesizer-waves through a Berlin gilding itself. Nocturnal creatures rustle and scuttle on this shiny surface, under which a menacing bass rumble tells an altogether different story. But before the overheated city bursts into flames, “Rush” hurls us towards the rainforest. In this jungle, exotic silicon based lifeforms, synths and guitars snake through the thicket. A clearance lets us take a short breather, then a flood of modulations sweeps us away through the canopy.

The Others – MyStyle 004 Album Sampler

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on May 23, 2014 by J.D.

The Others - MyStyle 004 Album Sampler - ArtworkThe wait is almost over: The fourth chapter in Dub Police’s signature mix series ‘MyStyle’ is about to be foretold. And it’s narrated by one of the label’s most prolific, most consistent, most celebrated artists: The Others.
Out 16.06.14
1. The Others – Voyager
2. The Others – Amazonia VIP